Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Syosset HS Advances To “The Challenge” Semi-Finals

Syosset High School has moved on to the Regional Semi-Finals of MSG Varsity’s “The Challenge,” and will take on Farmingdale High School on Sunday, May 26, 2013, at 6:30 p.m., on Cablevision’s Optimum Channel 14.

Syosset High School, joined by three other schools from Nassau County, heads into the Regional Semi-Final play while trying to qualify for the Tri-State Championship Playoffs.

Back for his fourth season as host of “The Challenge” is Jared Cotter, host of “MSG Varsity’s Talent Show” and a popular semi-finalist from American Idol. Cotter will serve as moderator, testing competing teams on their knowledge of history, the arts and literature, current events, and math and science in front of a live studio audience.

The Syosset High School team is represented by: Adam Rubinstein, Jeremy Wolfe (Captain), Joshua Abraham, Shirley Kuang and (Alternate) Andrew Lipman. The academic advisors are Brian Bickford and Julie Newman.

 “The Challenge” includes 192 high schools from the entire tri-state area — Long Island (with Nassau and Suffolk as two distinct regions), the Bronx, Brooklyn, Westchester/Lower Hudson Valley, New Jersey and Connecticut. Long Island will be represented by 32 high schools from Nassau County and 32 high schools from Suffolk County. A new match-up can be seen every Sunday through Friday at 6:30 p.m., on MSG Varsity, Cablevision’s Optimum Channel 14.  

Participating schools advance through a series of elimination rounds, with one school from each region being crowned regional champion and winning $2,500. The winning teams from each region go on to “The Challenge” Championship, where they square off in a Tri-State Showdown. The school awarded the title of Tri-State Champion will receive $10,000 in prize money, and each student participating in the final “Challenge” Championship game will receive $500.