Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

On the Bay: September 28, 2011

While the sailing season is not over yet for adults, the junior programs around the bay have ended and the children are back in school. The two yacht clubs that have junior sailing programs checked in and the results are noted below.

Port Washington YC Results

Opti I (Coach Emily): Best Skipper: Maddy Feigin; Most Improved Skipper: Matt Fortich; Most Enthusiastic: Will Feldmann.
Opti I (Coach Charlie): Best Skipper: Jack Grygiel; Most Improved Skipper: Justin Hill; Most Enthusiastic: Casey Colbert.
Opti I (Coach Tricia): Best Skipper: Allison Turner; Most Improved Skipper: Jamie George; Most Enthusiastic: Eloise Griffin.
Opti I (Coach Molly): Best Skipper: Shayne Bersin; Most Improved Skipper: Jason Saunders; Most Enthusiastic: Emma Feigin.
Opti II (Coach Katie): Best Skipper: Olivia Hansen; Most Improved Skipper: Grace Flood; Sportsmanship: Caitlin Colbert.
Opti III (Coach Leah) Best Skipper: James Dalimonte; Most Improved Skipper: Seth Friedberg; Sportsmanship: Mathiue Butchman.
Opti IV (Coach Emily) Best Skipper: Daniel Jacobs; Most Improved Skipper: Paul Verdirame; Sportsmanship: Will Boutzalis.
Opti V (Coach Leah) Best Skipper: Sawyer Bleifeld; Most Improved Skipper: Jack McCusker; Sportsmanship: Daisy Griffin.
Opti V (Coach Molly and Coach Carrie) Best Skipper: Jack Haberman; Most Improved Skipper: Brendan McCormack; Sportsmanship: Markella Tsalikis.

Optimist Summer Series hosted in conjunction with PWYC Jr. Yacht Club, First Place: Jack Haberman; Second Place: Spencer Bleifeld; Third Place: Brendan McCormack.

Racing (Coach Kirsty and Coach Alex) Best White Fleet Skipper: Kendall Hall; Most Improved White Fleet: Hunter Savignano; Best Blue Fleet Skipper: Katarina Catallo.

Most Improved Blue Fleet Skipper: Griffen Catallo; Best Red Fleet Skipper: Meredith Gallo; Most Improved Red Fleet Skipper: Lindsay Gallo. Sportsmanship: Griffen Catallo.

Optimist Ship Shape Award: Corrine Hall; Optimist Seamanship Award: Katarina Catallo.

Double Handed (Coach Tricia and Coach Charlie) Best Skipper: Serena Jones; Best Crew: Demetra Vlahos; Most Improved Skipper: Mike DiPreta; Most Improved Crew: Sophie Finnerty; Sportsmanship: Philip Verdirame. Laser (Coach Alec) Best Skipper: Griffin Albrecht. Radial (Coach Alec) Best Skipper: Steven Gallo; Most Improved Skipper: Erin Condon; Sportsmanship: Howie Curd. C 420 (Coach Bianca) Best Skipper: Elizabeth Einhaus; Best Crew: Alexandra Gallo. Best Junior Instructor Mentor: (Coach Molly) Elizabeth Einhaus. Perpetual Awards: Belden Award: Elizabeth Einhaus; Richard E. Gresio “Winning Attitude” Award: Erin Condon; Max Berger Opti Bowl Award: Meredith Gallo; Mel Berger Sportsmanship Award: Hunter Savignano.

2011 Coaches: Mike Benchimol, Tom Storck, Emily Browning, Charlie Morris, Tricia Kennedy, Molly Monarchio, Katie Stack, Leah Feldman, Carrie Morea, Kirsty Pender, Alex Whipple, Alec Basilion and Bianca Rom.

Manhasset Bay YC’s Junior Sailing Program

Instructor Awards: Opti Red: Harry Thompson & Annie Miller; Opti Blue: Colin Holdreith & Kristina Callan; Opti White: Eamon Hanley & Meg Day; Opti Black: TJ Danilek; Blue Jay/Pixel White: Will Day & Allison Jacobs; Blue Jay/Pixel Black: Ryan Miller & Kelly Kenlon; Laser: Gregory Stebbins. Most Improved: Opti Red: Guiliana Stein; Opti Blue: Anna Thompson; Opti White:Brian Carroll; Opti Black: Lauren Krim; Blue Jay/Pixel White: Nicky Furman; Blue Jay/Pixel Black: Regan Marooney; Laser: Christopher Harragan.

MBYC Perpetual Awards: Louise Haney Memorial Trophy: Christopher Harragan; Robert W. King III Memorial Trophy: TJ Danilek; Nicky Graf Memorial Trophy: Anna Thompson; Junior Shipshape Award: Aidan Caggiano; Helmle Trophy (boy): Nicholas Sequino; Helmle Trophy(girl): Lauren Krim; Kings Point Trophy(boy): Robert Clarke; Kings Point Trophy (girl): Caroline Rose Kenlon; Walter R. Silberstack Memorial Trohpy: Christopher Harragan; Commodore Charles F. Chapman Trophy: TJ Danilek; Thomas Haire Trophy: Trevor Sequino; Cow Bay Trophy: TJ Danilek; Commodore’s Cup: Nick Lobley.

Upcoming Events That May Be of Interest to Readers:

Oyster Bay Main Street Association and Oakcliff Sailing Center are joining forces again to host the Harvest Fest Party and Regatta, Friday and Saturday, Oct. 7-8. Last year’s smashingly successful event will be duplicated with the evening beginning with a strolling dinner at 6:30 in the quaint clubhouse and grounds of 2 South Street, Oyster Bay NY. Festivities will continue next door with live music and dancing, a unique silent auction (includes a sunset sail for four with Oakcliff Sailing Center and dinner at Jack Halyards American Bar & Grill, an overnight stay at Oheka Castle and other opportunities) and a showing of the work of talented local artist Kirk Larsen that will be available for purchase. On Saturday, Oct. 8, revelers will be on the water competing in the Harvest Regatta along with classic sailors racing on vintage yachts in the final race of the Fall Series. Costumes are strongly recommended for all. In keeping with the theme, sailors will have the option to retrieve pumpkins from the sea in the great pumpkin search. Each pumpkin is marked with a number corresponding to points in the regatta or prizes. Tickets are $75 in advance and $100 at the door. For purchasing tickets online and to get a complete list of all the great prizes and terrific goodies, go to:

The Port Washington YC Charity regatta is Sunday, Oct. 9 with the first gun at 11:50 a.m. The starting area will be in the vicinity of Can “1” and there will be a BBQ afterward to raise money for Family and Children’s Association. This non-for-profit helps nearly 40,000 of our neighbors each year. For more than 127 years, Family and Children’s has worked to protect and strengthen vulnerable children, seniors, families and communities on Long Island. For more information about the Notice of Race (NOR), Entry Forms and Sponsorship form go to: Alternatively, email the club at: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it , or call the club at 767-1614.