Each year just about at the end of August, this column reports on the accomplishments of our junior sailors who have spent their summer learning to sail and race in one of the three yacht club junior sailing programs on Manhasset Bay. These fortunate young people spend the entire day, all week out on various boats, be it the Optimist, which is a sailing pram for our youngest sailors, or on a Blue Jay or Pixel for those a bit older. For our teenage sailors there is the one-person boat, the Laser or the Club 420 which offers the opportunity to sail with another person and to master the skill of a trapeze which allows the crew member to hike further outside the side of his or her boat. The season is now over for these young people as they return to another school year. Some may be headed off to college and may join the sailing team to extend the season somewhat. For local kids, the best bet to continue sailing is to hop on a bigger boat with the Thirsty Thursday group or find room on a Sonar, MBO, KOD or Ideal 18 on the weekends. Though summer is almost over, the best sailing is yet to come! And for those who are hearty and really want to extend the sailing season, there is always room for crew during Winter Frostbiting. So take heart, juniors, there is ample opportunity to continue sailing if that is your desire. And be assured that our local sailing community will welcome you with very wide open arms.

Manhasset Bay YC held their Annual Junior Sailing Awards Dinner on Thursday, Aug. 16. Blaise Heid, Chairman of the Junior Sailing Program at MBYC, began the evening by thanking all the parents, the Flag Officers, MBYC staff, and everyone who helped to make this year successful, especially the sailing instructors: Colin Morse, Head Instructor, Kathryn Schmidt, Land Coordinator, and (in alphabetical order) Christine Ferro, Caitlin Fitzpatrick, John Keneally, Marguerite Keohler, Carrie Morea, Patrick Morris, Danielle Rounds and Paige Wassmer. Parent Awards went to: Sue and Dan Brown, Wendy and Scott Cozzens, Oriana and Nick Cyprus, Jen and John Hanley, Eileen and Tom Hoban, Caroline and Sean Kenlon, Lisa and John Lobely, Laura and John Maisano, and Nora and John Silbersack. In addition to the boats that are usually made available to the juniors, this year the MBYC kids also sailed in IC dinghies, MBOs, Ideal 18s, Sonars, J-105s and kayaks. Additional thanks to Paul and Jamie Strauch (Andiamo, J105) for the Dorade and Beach Point Overnight; and to the one-design sailors Greg Corkett, George Graf, Pedro Lorson, Sue Miller, Don Richardson and Ted Toombs who provided their boats, helped rig and sailed with the kids at the annual One Design Day.

The awards this year for MBJYC: Instructor Awards: Beginner Optimist: Patrick Mills and Alexandra Steck; Intermediate Optimist: Bryant Born and Keagan Hanley, Advanced Optimist: Nick Lobley and Claire McIntee; Blue Jay Novice: Michael Miller and Patricia Hoban; Blue Jay Advanced: Doug Horowitz and Meredith Krim; Pixel: John Maisano and Margot Cyprus; Laser: Rob Maisano and Emily Browning; Most Improved: Beginner Optimist: Julia Ellinghaus; Intermediate Optimist: Ali Fairhurst; Advanced Optimist: Gregory Stebbins; Blue Jay Novice: Claudia Steck; Blue Jay Advanced: T.J. Hoban; Pixel: Alex Heid; and Laser: Emily Browning. The Perpetual Awards: Louise Haney Memorial Trophy (demonstrated qualities of perseverance, consistent effort, sportsmanship, dedication to the sport of sailing and who exemplifies the mission of MBYC): Emily Browning; Thomas Haire Trophy (whose qualities as a leader, sportsman and yachtsman have best typified the ideals of the club): Robert Maisano; Commodore Charles F. Chapman Trophy (for most distinguished achievement in events outside JSA competition): The Optimist Racing Team of Claire McIntee, Meredith Krim, Nick Lobley and Gregory Stebbins; Helmle Trophy for Boys (for best seamanship): Bryant Born; Helmle Trophy for Girls (for best seamanship): Johanna Silbersack; Junior Shipshape Award (for seamanship through his or her care of either their own or club-owned boats and equipment): Evan Tortora; Cow Bay Trophy (most outstanding sailor at the JSA of LIS Optimist Regatta): Nick Lobley; Nicky Graf Memorial Trophy (sportsmanship, desire and enthusiasm for yachting): Cameron Burger; Robert W. King III Memorial Trophy (best percentage performance in JSA Open Events): Katherine Stack; Kings Point Trophy for Boys (Best crew): Travis Burger; Kings Point Trophy for Girls (best crew): Johanna Silbersack; Walter R. Silbersack Memorial Trophy: Doug Horowitz; and the Commodore's Cup (most outstanding sailor in MBJYC): Katherine Stack.

The Port Washington YC held its Annual Awards Dinner the third week in August, after the end of the junior racing season. Tom Egan and Gene D'Allesandro were the Junior Sailing Committee Chairs this year and led their juniors to a very successful sailing season. The PWYC Junior Bridge is made up of: Commodore: Will McIntosh, Vice Commodore: Jessica Nees, Rear Commodore: Myles Potters, Treasurer: Holly Hodson, Secretary: Brandon Henne, Fleet Captain: K.C. McCarthy, Optimist Fleet Captain: Casey Condon, Laser/420 Fleet Captain: Chris Wands. The Junior Board of Governors: Chairman: Graham Potters with Board Members: Eddie Einhaus, Elizabeth Einhaus, Christian Gordon, Liam Neville and Melissa Sama.

Awards for the Optimist juniors at Port Washington YC: Novice: Best Skipper: Tom Gold;

Most Improved Skipper: Ryan Feldman; Ship Shape: Max Murphy; Sportsmanship: Corrine Hall; Beginner: Best Skipper: Liam Mansfield; Most Improved Skipper: John Amorosano; Ship Shape: Nick Butchma; Sportsmanship: Lindsay Gallo; Intermediate: Best Skipper: Matthew Harris; Most Improved Skipper: Nick Cataldo; Ship Shape: Griffin Albrecht; Sportsmanship: Peter Papaporfiriou; Advanced: Best Skipper: Erin Condon; Most Improved Skipper: Sara Graf; Ship Shape: Alexandra Gallo; Sportsmanship: Kara Haberman; Racing: Best Blue Fleet Skipper: Roger Dorr; Most Improved Blue Fleet Skipper: Brendan Mansfield; Best Red Fleet Skipper: Ryan Schmitz; Most Improved Red Fleet Skipper: Ali Andromidas; Ship Shape: Colin Kennedy; Sportsmanship: Shanna Rae Savignano; Optimist Seamanship Award: Matt Lyons. Blue Jays: Best Skipper: Michael Graf; Best Crew: Olivia Pietrantonio; Most Improved Skipper: Max Johnson; Most Improved Crew: Ryan Quirin; Ship Shape: Max Johnson; Sportsmanship: Gabrielle Boris. Lasers: Best Skipper: Brandon Henne; Most Improved Skipper: Ryan Schmitz; Sportsmanship: Brian Barr. 420s: Best Skipper: Jessica Nees; Best Crew: K.C. McCarthy; Most Improved Skipper: Christian Gordon; Most Improved Crew: Eddie Einhaus; Sportsmanship: Elizabeth Girgenti. Perpetual Awards: Belden Award: Jessica Nees; Richard E. Gresio "Winning Attitude" Award: Elizabeth Einhaus; Max Berger Opti Bowl Award: Roger Dorr; Mel Berger Sportsmanship Award: Colin Kennedy. Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Port Washington News|
Copyright ©2007 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News