News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents

As the summer comes to a close, all the junior sailing programs end for the season, and the sailors plan to gear up for another school year. Some may sail during the fall season when the winds on Long Island Sound and Manhasset Bay are good, and some may even opt to sail with the frostbite fleet during the winter months. But in any case, all of the young sailors will eagerly await another season of sailing with their respective yacht clubs.

Port Washington YC has made available the results of their very successful summer program. Chairpersons for their Junior Sailing Program were Louis Nees and Thomas Egan, Jr. This year instructors included: Ann Schwagerl, Jori Layton, Catie Disanti, Katherine Rainone, Chris Morris, Tim Ondrey, Dan Leich, Beau Carrucci, Mark Berenblum, Brett Clark and Vaughan Read. The Junior YC Officers: Commodore: Lianna Gordon; Vice Commodore: Will McIntosh; Rear Commodore: Jessica Nees; Treasurer: Myles Potters; Secretary: Molly Hodson; Membership Secretary: Christian Gordon; Senior Advisors: William and Victoria Gordon; and Special Advisor: George Boulukos.

PWYC held their Junior Awards dinner on Friday, Aug. 18. Below is a list of the top sailors. Optimist: Beginners: Best: Alex Horn; Most Improved: Kevin Hazan.

Ship Shape: John Amorosana; Sportsmanship: Caroline Hickey. Intermediate: Best: Sarah Roberts; Most Improved: Erin Lyons; Ship Shape: Matthew Lyons; Sportsmanship: Ben Roberts. Optimist Racing: Best White Fleet: Roger Dorr; Best Blue Fleet: Colin Kennedy; Most Improved Blue Fleet: Shanna Rae Savignano; Best Red Fleet: Ryan Schmitz; Most Improved Red Fleet: Marco Bertolotti; Ship Shape: Robert Wands; Sportsmanship: Will Wassmer. Optimist Seamanship Award: Patrick Molligo.

Blue Jays: Best Skipper: Brian Barr; Best Crew: Olivia Pietrantonio; Most Improved Skipper: Katarina Krug; Most Improved Crew: Gabrielle Boris; Ship Shape: Kathleen Hughes; Sportsmanship: Laura Doyle. Lasers: Best Skipper: Will McIntosh; Most Improved Skipper: Christopher Wands. 420s: Best Skipper: Jesse Nees; Best Crew: Katherine (K.C.) McCarthy; Most Improved Skipper: Christian Gordon; Most Improved Crew: Eddie Einhaus.

Perpetual Awards: Belden Award: Jesse Nees; Richard E. Gresio "Winning Attitude" Award: Elizabeth Einhaus; Max Berger Opti Bowl Award: Ryan Schmitz; Mel Berger Sportsmanship Award: Elizabeth Girgenti.

Due to space limitations last week, the scores for weekend racing were not published. Below are the scores for the weekend of Aug. 26-27. North Shore YC was Race Committee for the weekend. On Saturday, the Sonars and MBOs had three races each. Starting with the Sonars (7 boats): Race 1: 1. #451, Ping, Sue Miller and John Browning, 2. #421, Weekend Warrior, Dan Simon, Bill Simon, and Einar Haukeland, and 3. #568, Laurie B2, Bob Baskind. Race 2: 1. #682, Puff, Ralf Steitz and Ted Toombs, 2. Ping, and 3. Weekend Warrior. Race 3: 1. Weekend Warrior, 2. Puff, and 3. Laurie B 2. The results for the MBOs (3 races): Race 1: 1. #9, Miss B Haven, Grace Allen and Ralph Heinzerling, 2. #5, Escapade, Ned Baker and Dick Moore, and 3. #25, Blackjack, Adrian Alley and George Graf. Race 2: 1. Miss B Haven, 2. Escapade, and 3. #11, Silver Foxes, Jay Davenport and Curt Champlin. Race 3: 1. Escapade, 2. Miss B Haven, and 3. #23, 23 Skidoo, Carole Alexander and Don Richardson. The Sonars and the KODs each had one race; the MBOs had two races on Sunday, Aug. 27. The results: Sonars (5 boats): 1. Puff, 2. Weekend Warrior, and 3. #479, Old Flame, Ed King and MaryLu Dempsey. Results for the KODs: 1. #15, Dybbuk, Roy Israel, 2. #14, Phoenix, Tom Powers, and 3. #12, Sonic, Michael Aingorn. Results for the MBOs: Race 1: 1. Escapade, 2. #14, Humdinger, John Silbersack and Jeffrey Rowland, and 3. 23 Skidoo. Race 2 results: 1. Escapade, and 2. 23 Skidoo. The third boat was scored a DNF.

The Women's Sports Foundation has named US Sailing Team member Sally Barkow (Chenequa, WI) as a finalist for the 2006 Sportswoman of the Year award in the team sport category. Each year, the Women's Sports Foundation honors two exceptional athletes - one individual and one team sport athlete - for extraordinary performances. Previous recipients of this award include Chris Evert, Mia Hamm, Sarah Hughes, Jackie Joyner-Kersee, Michelle Kwan, Martina Navratilova, Serena and Venus Williams. The winner will be announced in October. It would be nice to have a sailor win this prestigious award.

The International Sailing Federation (ISAF) has announced that Mark Upton-Brown and Ian Mitchell have won the 5050 World Championship for the second time, securing a narrow two point series victory over their American challengers, Howard Hamlin and Jeff Nelson. Several sailors know to our area of the world participated in the championship at Sandy Point, Hayling Island, Hampshire, England. Iain and Doug McKeige finished 65th out of 112. Jesse Falsone, who was crew for Tyler Moore and placed 4th overall, has been in our bay sailing with the frostbiters during the winter months. For more information,

Local sailor David Lindenbaum, crewing aboard the Farr 40 Barking Mad was part of the winning team capturing the highly competitive Farr 40 New England Regatta, on August 13. Not only did they win the regatta, they won it decisively with ten points to spare. Helmsman Jim Richardson said, "this was a difficult regatta with all of the wind changes. We just concentrated on keeping on top of the many shifts to keep the boat going." He also added, "It was very gratifying to win under such tricky conditions." Also in the fleet were such notable sailors as Russell Coutts sailing with Vincenzo Onorato on Mascalzone Latino, and John Thomson, with crew Peter Stalkus on board Thomson's Infinity. Rick Dominique, who is part of the Frostbite fleet here in Manhasset bay, crewed on Nimbus for skipper Jeremiah Lyons out of Kings Point. Terry McLaughlin, from Canada, was the substitute helmsman for Philippe Kahn, on Pegasus, which placed third overall. Terry has competed in our bay at the Knickerbocker Cup, winning it two years in a row. Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Port Washington News|
Copyright ©2006 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News