News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents

The competitors and umpires have arrived, the Colgate 26s have completed their journey from New York City to Manhasset Bay, and the plans for social events and seminars are finalized. Yes, it is that time again. The 2006 Knickerbocker Cup is here! Eleven skippers from around the world have arrived in our peninsula, eager to have the games begin. This year boasts a fine list of match racers: Brian Angel (USA); Martin Angsell (SWE); Scott Dickson (USA); Jesper Feldt (DEN); Johnny Isdahl (SWE); Adam Minoprio (NZ); Torvar Mirsky (AUS); Pierre-Antoine Morvan (FRA); Dave Perry (USA); Doug Shannon (USA); and Chris Van Tol (USA). Among the umpires for the event are John Standley who hails from Australia and has been involved with the American's Cup and Bruce Cook, commodore of Seawanhaka YC. Boats sailed this year are provided by Offshore Sailing School and Colgate 26 owners.

Racing commences today, Aug. 31 and runs until Sunday, Sept. 3 from 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Spectator boats will be available for those who would like to view the racing up close.

The week is full of great match racing - and great social events. Friday evening, Sept. 1, Dave Perry will present a seminar called "Postcards from Valencia." Perry is currently the rules advisor and afterguard coach for Victory Challenge, the Swedish American's Cup team, and will provide live footage, insights into who's hot and who's not and an explanation of what is happening next in the world of the America's Cup. There will be time for Q and A. Perry is a two-time All American sailor, has won the Congressional Cup two times and was a Silver Medalist in the 1983 Soling Pre-Olympic Regatta. In 2003, he was the Ideal 18 North American champion, and is a member of the Sailing World Hall of Fame. He has also received US SAILING's W. Van Alan Clark, Jr. Trophy for Sportsmanship and Captain Joe Prosser Award for Excellence in Sailing Instruction. He has been a member of the US SAILING Appeals Committee since 1986 and currently serves as a Senior Certified Judge. He has also authored three books on the sport, Understanding the Racing Rules of Sailing, Winning in One-Designs, and Dave Perry's 100 Best Racing Rules Quizzes, all updated in 2005. A popular presenter, Perry has conducted hundreds of "rules talks" and seminars on the sport, and is best known for his comprehensive, humorous and highly interactive presentations. A barbecue dinner with outdoor and indoor seating will begin at 6:30 p.m., followed by the seminar beginning at 8 p.m. Both the dinner ($18.95) and seminar (free) are open to the public. Please RSVP to the Knickerbocker YC at 883-7655 or

Saturday evening, Sept. 2, is the Knickerbocker Cup dinner/dance and auction to benefit Abilities!, a nonprofit agency based in Albertson, NY dedicated to empowering those with disabilities to be active, independent and self-sufficient participants in our society. The awards ceremony will take place on Sunday, Sept. 3 at the conclusion of racing.

Elizabeth and Alex Whipple, who sail out of the junior program at Manhasset Bay YC, have won the Pequot Trophy for their first place win at the 2006 JSA (Junior Sailing Association) Championships, co-sponsored by Noroton YC, Darien, CT and Roton Point Sailing Association, Rowayton, CT held at Noroton YC on Aug. 9-10. They beat out a fleet of 44 teams sailing Club 420s, competitors who represented teams from up and down Long Island Sound. A total of 104 boats and 147 junior sailors aged 13 to 18 from 21 Long Island Sound Junior Sailing Programs sailed in six very competitive races off Darien in a steady 8-10 knot s-sw winds. Other teams from our area sailing in the 420 division included: Jessica Nees and Katherine "K.C." McCarthy, PWYC; Christian Gordan and Eddie Einhaus, PWYC; Molly Hodson and Caroline Doyle, PWYC; and Margaret Bellon and Elizabeth Girgenti, PWYC. In the Laser Radial division were: Louise Browning, MBYC; Will McIntosh, PWYC; Brandon Henne, PWYC; and Rob Maisano, MBYC. Christopher Wands, PWYC, competed in the Laser Division.

Results of several weeks of Thirsty Thursday racing: Race 12 on Aug. 10. All divisions were given Course UAK2, 4.52 nm. Division I (2 boats): 1. Ripple, John Towers, and 2. Avalanche, Al Albrecht. Division II (6 boats): 1. EnGarde, Charlie Cannam, 2. Happy Daze II, Tom Egan, and 3. Beowulf, David Deutsch. Division III (6 boats): 1. En Passant, Bob Ebenau, 2. Serenity, Jacques Blinbaum, and 3. Aquila, Keith Dorman. Division Cats: 1. Renegade, Andy Ledins. Race 13 on Aug. 17: Division I (Course BK2, 5.96 nm, 4 boats): 1. Avalanche, 2. Ripple and 3. Freedom, Mario Fichera. Division II: (Course BK2, 5.96 nm, 6 boats): 1. Xcite, Yalcin Tarhan, 2. Beowulf, and 3. Happy Daze II. Division III (Course BZA2, 4.14 nm): 1. Tootsie, Ron Fink, 2. En Passant, and 3. Sundance, Joel Ziev. Division IV (Course BZA2, 4.14 nm, 2 boats): 1. Aquila, and 2. Oy, Eric Weintraub. Division Cats (Course BK2, 5.96 nm, 1 boat): 1. Renegade. Race 14 on Aug. 24. Division I (Course UAUA, 3.06 nm, 2 boats): 1. Free Fall, Bill McFaul, 2. Avalanche. Division II (Course UAUA, 3.05 nm, 4 boats): 1. Beowulf, 2. Vision, Marc Epstein, and 3. Irish Blessing, Ed Gillen. Division III (Course UAW, 2.11 nm, 3 boats): 1. (tie) Tootsie and En Passant, 3. Sundance. Division IV (Course UAW, 2.11 nm, 2 boats): 1. Oy and 2. Aquila. Division Cats: (Course UAUA, 3.06 nm, 1 boat): 1. Renegade.

Knickerbocker YC was Race Committee for Sunday Aug. 6 weekend racing. Sonar results (3 races, 11 boats). Congratulations to Ralf Steitz, skipper, and Ted Toombs on Sonar #682, Puff, who had won three out of three races. 1: 1. #682, Puff, Ralf Steitz, 2. #396, Delight, Bob Kirtland, and 3. #375, Housemartin, Beth and Greg Danilek. Race 2: 1. Puff, 2. #487,Viento, Jonathan Siener, and 3. #451, Ping, Sue Miller and John Browning. Race 3: 1. Puff, 2. Ping, and 3. #573, Sellhun, Bahar Gidwani. Results for KODs (4 boats): Race 1: #15, Dybbuk, Roy Israel, 2. #14, Phoenix, Donna and Tom Powers and 3. #12, (name unavailable). Race 2: 1. Phoenix, 2. Dybbuk and 3. #12. MBO results (one race): 1. #9, Miss B Haven, Grace Allen and Ralph Heinzerling, 2. #5, Escapade, Ned Baker and Dick Moore and 3. #26, Malachite, Lew Lane, Nina Randall, and Gina Sigal.

Port Washington YC was Race Committee for the weekend of Aug. 19-20. Results for Saturday: Sonars: Race 1 and 2 (4 boats): #421, Weekend Warrior, Dan Simon, Bill Simon and Einar Haukeland, 2. #368, Tzuris, Stanley Rosenberg and 3. #568, Laurie B 2, Bob Baskind. MBO results (6 boats): Race 1: 1. #5, Escapade, 2. #9, Miss B Haven and 3. #11, Silver Foxes, Jay Davenport and Curt Champlin. Race 2: 1. Miss B Haven, 2. Escapade and 3. #17, Frolic, Bill Martin. Results for Sunday, Aug. 20: Sonars, Race 1: 1. #684, Cypher, Tony Dalia and Brian Dalia, 2. Laurie B 2, and 3. Delight. Race 2: 1. Puff, 2. Delight, and 3. Cypher. KOD results (1 race): 1. #12, 2. Phoenix and 3. Dybbuk. MBO results (1 race): 1. Silver Foxes, 2. Escapade and 3. #25, Blackjack, Adrian Alley and George Graf. Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Port Washington News|
Copyright ©2006 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News