News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents

All three junior programs on Manhasset Bay concluded their season last week. For the next three weeks, this column will report on each of the programs. This week we will start with the juniors at the Port Washington YC, who had their Awards Dinner last Friday evening, Aug. 19. The program is under the direction of club members Louis Nees and Thomas Egan, Jr., the young sailors enrolled in the summer-long program were taught by Sailing Instructors: Brett Clark, Ashley Clark, a sister and brother team from the Virgin Islands, Vaughan Read, Candace Whipple, Drew Plominski, Beau Carrucci, Dan Leich and Mark Berenblum. The Junior Yacht Club Officers were: Commodore: Paige Wassmer, Vice Commodore: Patrick Shea, Rear Commodore: Lianna Gordon

Treasurer: Will McIntosh, Secretary: Jessica Nees, Membership Secretary: Myles Potters

Senior Advisors: William and Victoria Gordon. The PWYC Junior Sailing Awards for 2005: Optimist Beginners: Best Skipper: Leo Potters, Most Improved Skipper: Michael Fera, Ship Shape: Jack Egan, Sportsmanship: William DeGouveia, Most Enthusiastic: Matt Lyons. Green Fleet: Best Skipper: Michael Graf, Most Improved Skipper: Sean Graf, Ship Shape: Shanna Rae Savignano, Sportsmanship: Max Johnson, Most Enthusiastic: Erin Condon. White Fleet: Best Skipper: Colin Kennedy, Most Improved Skipper: Roger Dorr, Ship Shape: Colin Kennedy, Sportsmanship: Elizabeth Einhaus. Blue Fleet Best Skipper: Ryan Schmitz, Most Improved Skipper: Declan Kennedy, Ship Shape: Robert Wands, Sportsmanship: Casey Condon. Red Fleet: Best Skipper: Christian Gordon, Most Improved Skipper: Caroline Doyle, Ship Shape: Brandon Henne, Sportsmanship: Molly Hodson. Optimist Seamanship Award: Eddie Einhaus. Blue Jays: Best Midget Skipper: Adrienne Bourget, Best Midget Crew: Margaret Bellon, Best Novice Skipper: Christian Gordon, Best Novice Crew: Eddie and Elizabeth Einhaus, Most Improved Skipper: Brian Barr, Most Improved Crew: Christopher Yiachos, Ship Shape: Patrick Ferro, Sportsmanship: Christina Vlahos, Seamanship: Olivia Pietrantonio

Lasers: Best Skipper: Will McIntosh, Most Improved Skipper: Alex Ferro. 420s: Best Skipper: Jessica Nees, Best Crew: K.C. McCarthy, Most Improved Skipper: Bryan Kallenberg, Most Improved Crew: Max Smitham. Best Junior Sailing Instructor: Caitlin Fitzpatrick. Perpetual Awards: Johnston Award: Christian Gordon, Marshall Trophy: Adrienne Bourget, Belden Award: Will McIntosh, Richard E. Gresio "Winning Attitude" Award: Patrick Molligo, Max Berger Opti Bowl Award: Christian Gordon, Mel Berger Sportsmanship Award: Declan Kennedy.

Sofia Bekatorou, who won Olympic Gold last year in Greece launched a new match racing event in Mykonos called the Dream Race. According to Bekatorou, who wants to promote youth sailing in her home port, said, "What better motivation could young sailors have than seeing a group of the most famous sailors racing in their hometown?" The members over at Knickerbocker YC must have picked up on this, for they are bringing some of the best match racers to Manhasset Bay this week. The Knickerbocker Cup, now in its 24th year, has been a racing venue for some of the best match racers in the world. Past winners of the Cup include such notables as Ed Baird, who is one of the leaders in the ISAF ratings, Peter Gilmour, Paul Cayard, Russell Coutts, whose feats in the America's Cup are legendary, and east coast favorites Dave Perry and Dave Dellenbaugh. Terry McLaughlin, from Canada, who has won the Cup in 2003 and 2004, will be back to defend his title for a third time, trying to tie Ed Baird's three-peat. Dave Perry will also be back this year, not as a competitor but to present a seminar on Friday night, Aug. 26 (8 p.m. @ Knickerbocker YC - the public is welcome). The Knickerbocker Cup is a great first introduction to match racing and a fun venue for people and sailors to met and see match racing at its highest level. So come out and watch the races, which start on Thursday, Aug. 25 and continuing through Sunday, Aug. 28 for the Finals.

Local sailor Pedro Lorson, who just won many awards at Manhasset Bay Race Week, was up in Oakville Canada with his sister Mimi Lorson Berry, who lived in Port Washington until a few years ago, and now lives in Westfield, MA. They competed in the Snipe North Americans - a three day competition held on Aug. 5-7. Thirty-five Snipes were on the starting line on Lake Ontario; there were three races on Friday in shifty northwest winds, with three more races on Saturday in more light wind, this time from the southwest. No wind on Sunday forced the RC to cancel all racing. The North Americans attracted many of the top Snipe sailors who normally race in the Nationals, but this year, when the Nationals were in San Diego, many racers opted for staying on the east coast and competing in the North Americans in Canada. Thus the competition at the North Americans this year was on par with the Nationals. For more information, check out the Snipe website, at and

The results of weekend bay racing for the past few weeks: Saturday, July 30: Sonars (7 boats): 1. #396, Delight, Bob Kirtland, 2. #568, and 3. #682, Puff, Ralf Steitz. Sunday, July 31 (12 boats): 1. #451, Ping, Sue Miller/John Browning, 2. Delight, and 3. Puff. Saturday, Aug. 6 (8 boats) - Race 1: 1. #375, Housemartin, Beth and Greg Danilek, 2. #573, Selhun, Bahar Gidwani, and 3. Puff. Race 2: 1. Ping, 2. Delight, and 3. #421, Weekend Warrior, Dan Simon/Bill Simon. Sunday, Aug. 7 - Race 1: 1. Housemartin, 2. #684, 3. Puff. Race 2: 1. Housemartin, 2. Weekend Warrior, and 3. #487, Viento, Jonathan Siener. Race 3: 1. Housemartin, 2. Weekend Warrior, and 3. Delight. Race 4: 1. Puff, 2. Housemartin, and 3. Weekend Warrior. Saturday, Aug. 20 (8 boats) - Race 1: Delight, 2. Weekend Warrior, and 3. Housemartin. Race 2: 1. Housemartin, 2. Delight. and 3. Weekend Warrior. Sunday, Aug. 21 (10 boats): 1. #682, 2. Delight, and 3. Ping. Results for MBOs: Saturday, July 30 (6 boats): 1. #9, Miss B Haven, 2. #26, Malachite, Nina Randall/David Sigal, and 3. #3, Olin Express, Bob Prokop/Jack Antinori. Sunday, July 31 (4 boats) - Race 1: 1. Miss B Haven, 2. #21, Blue Chip, Chip Allen/Einar Haukeland, and 3. #5, Escapade, Ned Baker/Dick Moore. Race 2: 1. Miss B Haven, 2. Escapade, and 3. Blue Chip. Saturday, August 6 (6 boats) - Race 1: 1. Blue Chip, 2. Miss B Haven, and 3. #23, 23 Skidoo, Tom Godfrey/Don Richardson. Race 2: 1. Miss B Haven, 2. Blue Chip, and 3. #17, Frolic, Bill Martin. Sunday, Aug. 7 (5 boats) - Race 1: 1. Miss B Haven, 2. 23 Skidoo, and 3. Escapade. Race 2: 1. 23 Skidoo, 2. Miss B Haven, and 3. Escapade. Race 3: 1. 23 Skidoo, 2. Miss B Haven, and 3. Escapade. Results for Saturday, Aug. 20: Race 1: 1. Frolic, 2. 23 Skidoo, and 3. #25, Black Jack, George Graf/Adrian Alley. Race 2: 1. Black Jack, 2. Escapade, and 3. 23 Skidoo. Sunday, Aug. 21 (5 boats): 1. Olin Express, 2. Frolic, and 3. 23 Skidoo.

More race results next week. Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Port Washington News|
Copyright ©2005 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News