News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents
The leeward mark during frostbiting on Sunday, Jan. 9. Left to right: #538, Greg Corkett/Carter Booth, #514, Ted Toombs/Matt Cornachio, #536, Pedro Lorson/Yasu Kawahara, and Ralf Steitz/Jamie Gross.

Last Sunday, Jan. 9, seemed almost as if it was a late August afternoon, but not because of the weather. Two of our frostbite dinghy teams, Ralf Steitz/Jaime Gross and Pedro Lorson/Yasu Kawahara, after rounding the downwind mark, commenced a tacking duel reminiscent of the match racing that was seen in Manhasset Bay last summer with the Knickerbocker Cup. But there were subtle differences: for example, the weather was in the 40's and cloudy, not like the warm summer breeze found last August; the boats were small dinghies, not the graceful J/105 sailed in the Knickerbocker Cup; and the action was a bit slower as the wind was out of the northwest at about 0 - 2 knots. But the tactics were the same as these two boats covered each other and tacked at least three or four times on the last leg of the only race that took place on Sunday. Thus, last Sunday had some excitement, even if the weather did not cooperate. After the first race, the Race Committee cancelled racing for the day, and sent the boats to shore, an exercise that took some time due to the lack of wind. At one point, someone on the Race Committee commented that the wind was approximately -2 knots, while another noticed that one boat valiantly trying to steer to shore was actually sailing backwards. Top sailors for Sunday, January 9: 1. #536, Pedro Lorson/Yasu Kawahara, 2. #537, Ralf Steitz/Jaime Gross, and 3. #514, Ted Toombs/ Matt Cornachio.

Inadvertently left out in last week's column on the Annual Frostbite New Year's Regatta was one very deserving skipper who won a few awards: Order of the Mud Hen and The Order of the Loon. It seems that Claude Chazotte, an owner of IC dinghy #532, decided that sailing on top of the water was not enough. After a long day of racing, he climbed out of his little dinghy onto the dock when he noticed his centerboard was still down, which would provide complications when hauling the boat out of the water. Feeling quite chipper, he hopped back into the boat to remedy the situation, and this is where he made his fatal error - placing too much confidence in an unstable dinghy. Claude quickly found out that although his drysuit worked, the water of Manhasset Bay that day was really cold. So the Committee for Special Awards, headed by Steve Moore, quickly decided to end the deadlock of which award to give the agile young man and awarded Captain Chazotte both the Order of the Mud Hen for stepping off the dock and the Order of the Loon for falling out of his dinghy. The entire team of frostbites look forward to Captain Chazotte providing further ammunition in the weeks to come before the winter sailing season comes to a close.

While not on the Swedish Match Racing circuit, Pedro Lorson (left) and Ralf Steitz provided some good sailing tactics on the last leg of the only race held on Sunday, Jan. 9.

The US SAILING Executive Committee recently approved a new trophy for excellence in race administration. The Harman Hawkins Trophy will be awarded yearly (the first award will be presented at the 2005 Spring Meeting in Newport, RI) to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the sport of sailing in the field of Race Administration (Judging, Race Management, Appeals and Racing Rules). Selection of the recipient will be made by the Race Administration Committee from nominees sought by the Judges, Race Management, Appeals and Racing Rules committees. Harman Hawkins (1919-2002) was a past president of the United States Yacht Racing Union (now United States Sailing Association), a commodore of Manhasset Bay Yacht Club, a president of the YRA of Long Island Sound, and a commodore of the Storm Trysail Club. His extraordinary involvement in sailing and his numerous chairmanships of the Appeals, Judges and Legal Committees brought him many honors and awards including the Nathanael H. Herreshoff Trophy, US SAILING's highest award. It is most fitting that this award be named after Harman, a man that gave back so much to the sport he loved. The Judges, Race Management, Appeals and Racing Rules committees are seeking nominations from US SAILING members for the award. To nominate a candidate for this award, please go to

The Sea Cliff Yacht Club, trustees of the International Catamaran Challenge Trophy (ICCT), and the Southern Yacht Club (New Orleans, LA.) the current defender of the trophy, have announced that they are accepting proposals from cities around the world to host the 25th anniversary regatta later this year. Formerly sailed in one-off C Class catamarans, the event is currently raced in the developmental F18HT high-performance catamaran in an effort to make the competition more affordable and accessible to a wide range of sailors. The two clubs are seeking a venue that will enable as many teams to participate as practical, provide media accessibility sought by the teams' sponsors and optimize spectator viewing. Last October John Lovell and Charlie Ogeltree, U.S. Sailing Team Olympic silver medalists in the multihull Tornado class at the Athens Olympic Regatta, successfully defended the trophy they won in 2003 by defeating Enrique Figueroa and Jorge Hernandez of Puerto Rico. Instead of hosting a second defense, the Southern Yacht Club agreed to the ICCT Trustees' wishes to open the location of the next event to venues other than just the defender's home waters. Interested venues should send proposals to ICCT Trustees, c/o Sea Cliff Yacht Club, 42 The Boulevard, Sea Cliff, NY 11579, USA.

US SAILING has announced the final list of nominees - nine women and 13 men - who will be considered for the 2004 Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards. Established in 1961 by US SAILING and sponsored by Rolex Watch, U.S.A. since 1980, the Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards recognize outstanding on-the-water achievement in the calendar year just concluded. Generally acknowledged as the sport's highest individual accolade in the United States, the Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards have honored such sailing standouts as Ed Adams, Betsy Alison, Dave Curtis, Dennis Conner, Courtenay Dey, JJ Isler, John Kostecki, Ken Read and Ted Turner, all of whom have won the coveted award multiple times. To find out who has been nominated for this year's awards, please visit Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Port Washington News|
Copyright ©2005 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News