News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents

Terry McLaughlin, skipper, along with Allan Megarry, Geoff Moore, and Rossi Milev from Canada have won the 204 Knickerbocker Cup. Second place team Simon Minoprio, from Team Vision Yachting, with Matthew Stuart, Hayden Goodrick, and Stuart Molloy, from New Zealand, came in a close second, forcing a third race in a best two out of three races in the finals. This is the second consecutive win for McLaughlin, and with both teams vowing to return next year for a rematch, the young and very talented Team Vision Yachting, has a very good chance of preventing a "three peat" for McLaughlin. Final standings: 1. Terry McLaughlin (CAN), 2. Simon Minoprio, Team Vision Yachting, 3. Scott Dickson, Dickson Racing Team (USA), 4. Christian Hamilton, Freshminds (GBR), 5. Mason Woodworth, Team Seawanhaka (USA), 6. Laurie Jury, Kiwi Match Team (NZL), 7. Paul Campbell-James (GBR), 8. Andrew Arbuzov (Russia), 9. Martin Angsell, Harken Matchracing Team (SWE), 10. Graeme Sutherland, Pulse Yacht Racing Team (NZL), 11.Peter Wibroe, Team PW (DK), and 12. Nick Cherry (GBR). Full story and photos next week.

As promised, the Manhasset Bay Race Week Perpetual Awards. Greg and Beth Danilek on Housemartin won three perpetuals: Black Jack trophy (member of YRALIS, keel type boat, best percentage with 5 yachts in 60 percent of the races), and the Edward P. Alker Trophy (member of MBYC, LWL >= 15'6', highest percentage with 5 yachts in 60 percent of the races). Housemartin crew (Beth Danilek, Ted Toombs and Brian Clemency) won the Arthur E. Barnard Crew Trophy (member MBYC, LWL >= 15' 6", highest percentage, 5 yachts in 60 percent of races). The Lure Trophy (keel boat in most competitive class, smallest percentage margin over the next three boats, 10 boats each race, 3 races). Ryan Schmitz, PWYC won the Thomas M. Fraser Trophy (centerboard boat, member club YRALIS, best percentage, 5 yachts in 60% of races); Frank T. Cornell Trophy (Junior sailing program, best percentage, minimum 5 boats in 60 percent of races: Robbie Jordan; George H. Wicke Trophy (female skipper, member club YRALIS, best percentage, 5 boats in 60 percent of races): Sue Miller. Nan Barry won two trophies: the David Craig Trophy (Women's Day winner during Race Week) and the Louise T. Haney Memorial Trophy (Ideal 18 Winner). And lastly, the Robert Harvey Wessmann, Jr. Trophy (age under 25, member club YRALIS, best showing, competitive standing, sportsmanship) was won by two teams this year: Matt Cornachio and Wilkie Jordan (MBYC) and Danielle Powers and Carrie Morea (KYC).

While on the subject of MBYC, the Manhasset Bay Challenge Cup will take place September 11-12 at Eastern Yacht Club in Marblehead, MA. It will be sailed in Sonars. The Manhasset Bay Challenge Cup is the oldest annual sailing event in the United States. Only the America's Cup and the Brooklyn Cup predate it, and these take place only once every few years. Since 1902, the Challenge Cup has been won by 26 different clubs from places such as New York, Chicago, Marblehead, and Bermuda. The event is open to a single representative from any number of challenging clubs. This is a fleet racing, BYOB event. Entry fee: $150. Contact your flag officers if you would like to challenge on behalf of your club. More information is available at the Eastern YC website: ( or by calling the club at 781-631-1400.

Bay racing results for the past few weeks: For Sunday, August 29th: Sonars raced one race (11 boats): 1. #682, Puff, Ralf Steitz, 2. #451, Ping, Sue Miller/John Browning, and 3. #678, Whimsey, Ed Adler/Jeff Kovner. On Sunday, September 5th, the top Sonars were (10 boats):1. #396, Delight, Bob Kirtland, 2. #421, Weekend Warrior, Dan Simon/Bill Simon, and 3. #678, Whimsey, Ed Adler/Jeff Kovner. Race #2: 1. #677, Serendipity, Allyn Salomon, 2. #682, Puff, Ralf Steitz, and 3. #487, Viento, Jonathan Siener. Race 3: 1. Delight, 2. Viento, and 3. Puff. On Monday, September 6, the top Sonars were (10 boats): 1. Delight, 2. Ping, and 3. Whimsey. The winning boats in the Sonar Single-handed Race on Labor Day were: Race #1: 1. Puff, 2. Ping, and 3. Weekend Warrior. Race #2 in the Single-handed race: 1. Ping, 2. Puff, and 3. Weekend Warrior. Race 3 results: 1. Weekend Warrior, 2. Puff, and 3. Ping.

Results for the Manhasset Bay One Designs (MBOD): Sunday, August 29: 1. #9, Miss B Haven, Grace Allen/Ralph Heinzerling, 2. #11, Silver Foxes, Curt Champlin/Jay Davenport, and 3. #5, Escapade, Ned Baker/Dick Moore. On Sunday, September 5: the MBOs had three races: Race #1: 1. #25, Blackjack, Adrian Alley/George Graf, 2. #20, Southerly, Tom Godfrey/Don Richardson, and 3. #5, Escapade. Race #2 and #3: 1. Escapade, 2. #11, Silver Foxes, and 3. #20, Southerly. On Labor Day, the results: Race #1: 1. #21, Blue Chip, Chip Allen/Einar Haukeland, 2. Miss B haven, and 3. Southerly. Results for race #2: 1. Blackjack, and 2. Escapade. The results of the MBO Single-handed races: Race #1: 1. Miss B Haven, 2. Blue Chip, 3. Blackjack. Race 2: 1. Blue Chip, 2. Miss B Haven, and 3. Escapade.

Results for the Knickerbocker One Designs (KODs); Sunday, August 29th: 1. #15, Dybbuk, Roy Israel, and 2. # 14, Phoenix, Donna and Tom Powers. The KODs also had three races on Sunday, September 5, with Dybbuk winning all three, followed by second place Phoenix. The Ideal 18's were out on Sunday, September 5 and again on Labor Day. Winners (names unavailable) for all three days: 1. #115, and 2. #54.

The Thirsty Thursday results for August 26th: Division I (Course: BJD, 6.88 nm, 3 boats): 1. Avalanche, Al Albrecht, 2. Free-Fall, Bill McFaul, and 3. Grace, Gene Gold. Division II (Course: BCM, 6.34 nm, 4 boats): 1. Anticipation, Ed Veprovsky, 2. Happy Daze II, Tom Egan, and 3. Vision, Marc Epstein. Division III (Course: BCM, 6.34 nm, 5 boats): 1. Tootsie, Ron Fink, 2. En Passant, Bob Ebenau, and 3. Sundance, Joel Ziev. The results for September 2 are unofficial; official results will be reported next week.

With all of US Sailing's national youth and junior championships for 2004 completed, US Sailing has named the members of the 2004 U.S. Youth Sailing Team. The team members are considered the strongest young sailors in the U.S; they each won or were the highest U.S. finishers at a US Sailing National Championship or are members of the U.S. Youth World Team, which represented the U.S. at the 2004 Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World Championship held last July in Poland. The U.S. Sailing Team is an honorary team, and two junior sailors, from Huntington, joined the team and received official team uniforms at their qualifying event: U.S. Youth Championship: Erick Storck, Club 420 skipper; U.S. World Team; and his sister Kaity Storck, Club 420 crew. For more information, go to Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Port Washington News|
Copyright ©2004 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News