News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents
September 10, 2004

  • News: Pride in Port Is Oct. 16

    Despite some fears that Pride in Port might not take place this year, at the last minute the Chamber of Commerce came to the rescue, allowing this great community event to go forward. The date for the parade, senior luncheon, hall of fame induction, homecoming and Annual Blue and White Dinner will be Saturday, Oct. 16. FULL STORY

  • News: New School Tax Rate Set; Committees, Calendar Setup

    At its Aug. 10 meeting, the BOE announced that the tax levy for the 2004-2005 fiscal year is $90,680,621. This is the amount of money the district needs to raise through taxation, after other income revenues (i.e. state aid) for the new year are computed and subtracted from the district's expenditures. And, though the 2004-05 school budget increased 8.55 percent, representing an increase of $7,865,969 over last year's figure of $91,967,975, the tax rate, based on this year's county assessments, for the new year is up 12.4 percent. The new rate is $120.499 per $100 of assessed valuation of Class I residential dwellings, up from $107.228 for the previous year. Readers interested in finding out their school tax for the new year can call the county assessor's office at 571-2490. A clerk will be able to figure out your school tax, minus any exemption discounts (i.e. STAR) for the new year. Please note this will not include other taxes (i.e. town, village, county). FULL STORY

  • Sports: PYA Announces Seventh Annual Golf Outing

    On Columbus Day, Monday Oct. 11, Port Washington Youth Activities will hold it seventh annual golf outing, sponsored by Finn Mac Cool's restaurant. FULL STORY

  • Sports: On the Bay

    Terry McLaughlin, skipper, along with Allan Megarry, Geoff Moore, and Rossi Milev from Canada have won the 204 Knickerbocker Cup. Second place team Simon Minoprio, from Team Vision Yachting, with Matthew Stuart, Hayden Goodrick, and Stuart Molloy, from New Zealand, came in a close second, forcing a third race in a best two out of three races in the finals. This is the second consecutive win for McLaughlin, and with both teams vowing to return next year for a rematch, the young and very talented Team Vision Yachting, has a very good chance of preventing a "three peat" for McLaughlin. Final standings: 1. Terry McLaughlin (CAN), 2. Simon Minoprio, Team Vision Yachting, 3. Scott Dickson, Dickson Racing Team (USA), 4. Christian Hamilton, Freshminds (GBR), 5. Mason Woodworth, Team Seawanhaka (USA), 6. Laurie Jury, Kiwi Match Team (NZL), 7. Paul Campbell-James (GBR), 8. Andrew Arbuzov (Russia), 9. Martin Angsell, Harken Matchracing Team (SWE), 10. Graeme Sutherland, Pulse Yacht Racing Team (NZL), 11.Peter Wibroe, Team PW (DK), and 12. Nick Cherry (GBR). Full story and photos next week. FULL STORY

  • Opinion: Transparent School Budgets
  • Opinion: A Tribute to Labor Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Port Washington News|
Copyright ©2004 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News