News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents

The sailing community was very busy again this week, both on the bay and internationally. Starting first with the report from Athens, where over 400 sailors are competing in a multitude of classes at the Agios Kosmas Sailing Center. Paul Cayard, from Kentfield, Califorinia and Phil Trinter, originally from Lorain, Ohio, and now living in Port Washington, started out their first day of sailing at the top of the leader board, capturing a first place in their first race, and a sixth in the second. During the second day of racing on the Saronic Gulf, Cayard/Trinter were in third place in the first race when the skippers from Ireland and Great Britain claimed that Cayard had sailed too close to them, and forcing them to do two 720-degree penalty turns. These momentum-killing turns tumbled them to last place, and they never recovered. The next race they were over early at the start, and by the end of the day, they finished in 15th and 10th place, giving them a seventh overall. "It was a little bit of bad luck," Cayard said about possibly tacking too close to the Irish. "I think we were probably clear but they started screaming and yelling. Then Great Britain started screaming that we had interfered with them while doing our turns." Watching the action on Bravo very late at night, it was easy to detect the frustration these two were experiencing. Said Cayard, "We've had one good day, one bad day. I'm not too worried about it. Tomorrow we have to have a good day." As it turned out, Cayard was correct in his assessment. They were able to climb back to fourth overall today (Monday, August 23), during a race that had them at one point in 12th place. The second race was postponed to the following day due to lack of wind. In addition to the Star class being the most competitive of the fleets, the wind conditions on the Saronic Gulf present especially difficult conditions. "You can never get used to the conditions here," said Trinter. "It's more a matter of controlling your frustrations. We have six races left, that's a whole world championship." With the second race on Monday postponed to Tuesday, a reserve day, Trinter continued, "And sailing tomorrow plays to our favor. We're toughter, fitter than a lot of guys out here, and taking their reserve day away plays into our hands." More Olympic results next week, but in the interim, to keep up to date with results in all the classes, log onto

Manhasset Bay Race Week was held from August 12-15, with race courses set up in Manhasset Bay and out on Long Island Sound. Results for all of the classes (full names provided when available), starting with the junior sailors: In the 420 Class: 1. Danielle Powers/Carrie Morea (KYC), and 2. Matt Cornachio/Wilkie Jordan (MBYC). The Laser top finishers: 1. Gareth Field (MBYC), 2. Marissa Diaz (MBYC), and 3. Chessie Capone (MBYC). The Blue Jay Class: 1. Doug Horowitz/Jeff Horowitz (MBYC), and 2. Katre Stack/Virginia Brodie. The winners in the Optimist Class: 1.Ryan Schmitz (PWYC), 2. Patrick Molligo (PWYC), and 3. Robbie Jordan (MBYC). The Ideal 18's could be sailed by juniors, but during MBYC Race Week, all the entries were adults. The results:1. Nan Berry (MBYC), 2. Aviva Pinto (MBYC), and 3. Roxanne Lehmann (SCYC). Top in the Sonar Class: 1. Housemartin, Greg Danilek/Beth Danilek (MBYC), 2. Ping, Sue Miller/John Browning (MBYC), and 3. Delight, Bob Kirtland (MBYC). The MBO finishes: 1. Einar Haukland/Yasu Kawahara (MBYC), 2. Olin Express, Jack Antinori/Pam Prokop (MBYC), and 3. Southerly, Tom Godfrey/Don Richardson (MBYC). Top KODs: 1. Dybbuk, Roy Israel (KYC), 2. Circe, Michael Silverman (KYC), and 3. Knick Knack, Arthur Kass (KYC). Results for the PHRF boats: Division 1: 1. Charlie's Boat, Charlie Cannam NSYC). Division 2: 1. Thomas (DYS), 2. Vision, Marc Epstein (NSYC), and 3. Kiwiti. Perpetual Awards will be reported next week.

All the junior sailing programs have completed their summer programs, and held their awards ceremony in the last few weeks. Results are available for two of the three programs; when results become available for the third program, they will be published. The Knickerbocker YC had their awards dinner on Wednesday, August 18, with Donna Powers and Jerry Morea, co-chair of the Junior Program, saying a few words to all the young mariners. Then Jason Hill, head coach, and his instructors awarded the following: Best Optimist Skipper: Josh Dell; Most Improved Optimist: Anastasia Williams, Ben Dell, Devyn Furina; Best Novice Optimist Skipper: Mike Marini; Shipshape Award: Josh Dell, Asher Feldman; Seamanship Award: Cale Rubenstien, Zoie Williams; Best Blue Jay Skipper: Chris Ledins; Best Blue Jay Crew: Nick Faccibene, Joe Duarte; Best Novice Blue Jay Skipper: Asher Feldman; Best Novice Blue Jay Crew: Leah Feldman, Alexander Kellog; Most Improved Blue Jay Skipper: Devon Kenger. Sailing Optis in the Tri-Clubs: 1. Josh Dell, 2. Margeaux Rand, and 3. Devin Kenger. Sailing Blue Jays in the Tri-Clubs: 1. Chris Ledins, and 2. Asher Feldman. The Green Fleet Regatta: 1. Mike Marini, 2. Robby Levinger. In the Club 420 class: Best skipper: Danielle Powers; Best Crew: Carrie Morea. Danielle Powers and Carrie Morea won the trophy for most outstanding performance in JSA events. Asher Feldman captured the trophy for Outstanding Progress.

The next evening, Thursday, August 19, Manhasset Bay YC held their awards dinner. John Silbersack and Tom Hoban, co-chair of the Junior Sailing Program, introduced the head coach, Elsbeth Field, and she started the awards by giving every sailor a participation award. Other awards include the following: Instructors Awards: Evans Cyprus, Doug Horowitz, Christina Vhlachos, Victoria Rainone; Most Improved: Beginner Opti: Patti Hoban, Kade Kenlon; Intermediate Opti: Ashley Scaglione, Meredith Krim; Racing Opti: Robbie Jordan, Nick Lobley; Novice Blue Jay: Katie Stack, Johanna Silbersack; Racing Blue Jay: Doug and Jeff Horowitz; Laser: Nichols Silbersack; Club 420: Matt Cornachio. The Louise Haney Memorial Trophy: Katherine Rainone; The Thomas Haire Trophy: Nichols Silbersack; Commodore Charles E. Chapman Trophy: Evan Read: Helmle Trophy for Girls: Marissa Diaz; Helmle Trophy for Boys: Matt Cornachio: Junior Shipshape Award: Ben Lobley; Cow Bay Trophy: Charlie Morris; Nicky Graf Memorial Trophy: Laura Cornachio; Robert W. King III Memeorial Trophy (presented by Jean Shope): Wilkie Jordan; Kings Point Trophy for Boys: Jeff Horowitz; Kings Point Trophy for Girls: Virginia Brodie; Commodore's Cup: Francesca Capone. Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Port Washington News|
Copyright ©2004 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News