News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents

Teddy Himler, from Manhasset, has won the prestigious Commodore Law Trophy in the full-rigged Laser division at Indian Harbor YC on June 29-30. The Commodore Law Trophy is the JSA (Junior Sailing Association) Finals for the Bemis (doublehanded Club 420s) and the Smythe (singlehanded Laser) National Championship. This win gives Himler the chance to represent the JSA at the National Championships at the New Bedford YC, in South Dartmouth, MA August 14-18th, where some of the best junior sailors from across the country will test their skills against those who qualified at their local and regional level. In order for Himler to participate in the Law Trophy, he had to meet on of the following criteria: 1. finish in the top 30 percent of their division of the Eastern Districts, Western Districts, Larchmont Junior Race Week or 420, Laser, Laser Radial Race Week in 2003; 2.sail in the 2003 Area B semi-finals of the Sears, Bemis or Smythe; and 3. be invited to sail in the 2003 US Sailing Junior Olympic National Sailing championship. Teddy Himler's brother, Matt, won the Law Trophy in 2002, sailing in a Laser Radial.

The Bemis Trophy is named after F. Gregg Bemis who was best known for his work on the racing rules, which included a long tenure as chairman of the Appeals Committee. It was his leadership role in judging at junior and intercollegiate regattas that inspired a group of co-judges to donate in 1975 a trophy for double handed junior sailing. Similar to the U.S. Junior Triplehanded Championship for the Sears Trophy, it is a ladder competition starting at the yacht club level. In 1999 it was expanded to include two teams per Area (groupings of Yacht Racing or District Associations). The Smythe Trophy is named in honor of D. Verner Smythe. Singlehanded sailing in the U.S., spurred by a growing interest in the Olympics, led to the addition in 1975 of a national single-handed championship and the donation of a trophy in honor of a long-time chairman of the Sears Trophy Committee, D. Verner Smythe. An active member of the Pequot Yacht Club at Southport, CT, he also served as Chairman for the Coordinating Committee of the North American Yacht Racing Union (NAYRU) championships. As a member, also, of the National Sea Scouts board, he was instrumental in persuading officials of the NAYRU to assist with their championship. Similar to the Bemis Trophy, the field was expanded to include two teams per Area.

Meg Dempsey, Wendy Ford, and Patrice Anibal, representing the Stamford YC, have won the Area B semi-finals of the Women's Sailing Championship Nan Matheson Wood Trophy last Saturday, July 23th. Manhasset Bay YC hosted this event and Commodore John Barry was PRO, ably assisted by his RC (Nan Barry, Beth Morningstar, George Faeth, and Sue Miller and Bill Clemency). The wind was light and puffy on Manhasset Bay giving the competitors some challenging conditions during their six windward-leeward races. At the end of the day, it was the team from Stamford who took line honors with 11 points, followed by the Msytic River Mudheads (Carol Connor, Katie Bradford, and Mary Hotchkiss) in second place with 12 points, and the team from Sayville YC (Kathleen Remmer, Erin Collins, Sharon Boyle) coming in third (15 points). According to Commodore Barry, "it was some of the best and most competitive sailing I've seen in a long time."

Winning the Area B qualifies the Stamford ladies to compete in the US Women's Sailing Championship Adams Cup (Mrs. Charles Francis Adams Trophy), which will be held at the Kaneohe YC in Hawaii in October and will be sailed in J/24s. Women from around the country who have won their respective area championships ( Area A through K) will go head to head with the women from Stamford in the windy and rough waters in Hawaii. Previous winners of the U.S. Women's Sailing Championship include teams from: Deep Creek YC, in MD (2003); San Francisco YC (2002); San Diego YC (2000); Palisades, NY (1999) with Joan Hurban, Judy Hanlon, and Cindy Cox; Oakland, CA (1998); Mobile, AL (1997); Boston Sailing Center (1996); Eastern YC, Marblehead, MA (1995); Ida Lewis YC (1994) and Manhasset Bay YC (1993) with Beth Danilek, Sue Miller, Janet Grapengeter, Nancy Pearson. For more information,

Olympic update: Phil Trinter, from Port Washington, and Paul Cayard, who qualified to represent the US in the Star Class in the 2004 Olympics, are in Athens training for the event. A few days ago, Cayard said, "Today we raced with Hagen (GER), Neeleman (NED), Percy (GBR), MacDonald (CAN), Beashal (AUS) on a short course about 1 mile up and back and did that about 6 times.

Thirsty Thursday sailors had a challenging and exciting time last Thursday evening, July 15th as the high winds and rough water on Long Island Sound caused havoc with some boats. One boat dropped out of the race due to equipment failure. Only three divisions were given a start. Results for the evening: Division I (7.5 nm, Course DND, 5 boats): 1. Free-Fall, Bill McFaul, 2. Grace, Gene Gold, and 3. Promise Kept, Sandy Lindenbaum. Division II ( 6.21 nm, Course CJ, 3 boats): 1. Vision, Marc Epstein, 2. Happy Daze II, Tom Egan, and 3. Xcite, Yalcin Tarhan. Division III: (6.21 nm, Course CJ, 6 boats): 1. En Passant, Bob Ebenau, 2. Tootsie, Ron Fink, and 3. Second Wind, Anthony Viola. Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Port Washington News|
Copyright ©2004 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News