News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents

Summer has really begun when we see junior sailors out on the bay and we start getting the results of junior regattas held up and down Long Island Sound. The summer just doesn't seem long enough to get in all the activities these young sailors attend, but somehow by the end of August, our juniors have "been there and done that." This past week is a good example of what will prove to be a summer full of great sailing opportunities. On Thursday, July 8th, Sea Cliff YC held the 2004 Western District Regatta. The Race Committee, headed by Dana Schnipper, who sails with Stephanie Baas during the winter months in IC dinghy #510, ran three races for the Blue Jays, Lasers, Laser Radials and Club 420 Classes. Sue Miller, from MBYC, who successfully champions Sonar #451, Ping, with John Browning, served as Jury Chair. Just under 100 juniors from western Long Island Sound competed in the regatta on a sunny, but almost wind-less day. After a mandatory meeting at the clubhouse at 10:00 am, the first warning signal was to be at 11:50. Well after that time, boats were being towed to the two race circles, one for the Blue Jays, and a second one for the three other divisions. The RC postponed racing until the wind filled in, but with threats of a severe thunderstorm hovering over the area (which never materialized), the RC used great judgment in getting the racing underway as soon as the wind started to fill in, and all three races were completed. Tedd Himler, MBYC, captured first place in the Laser Radial Class (37 boats). Sailing in the same class from our area were: Marissa Diaz (MBYC); John Keneally (PWYC); Francesca Capone (MBYC); Katherine Rainone (MBYC); Christine Ferro (PWYC); Christopher Wands (PWYC); and Lianna Gordon (PWYC). Local sailors in the Blue Jay division (14 boats): Robert Maisano/Hayes Brown (MBYC); Douglas Horowitz/Peter Aiken (MBYC). Nicholas Silbersack (MBYC) was the only local sailor in the Laser class (14 boats). Mark du Moulin (LYC) - son of Rich du Moulin who sailed out of Knickerbocker YC as a junior -came in second in the Club 420 class (32 boats). Local sailors in this class include: Danielle Powers/Carrie Mores (KYC); Will McIntosh/Lukasz Mosakowski (PWYC); Matt Cornachio/Wilkie Jordan (MBYC); and Paige Wassmer (PWYC)/Louise Browning (MBYC).

On Saturday July10, the Knickerbocker YC held the KYC Opti Invitational 2004, and just about 100 of our youngest sailors participated. Manhasset Bay was a beautiful sight from mid-morning through the afternoon, as the Opti sails filled the horizon. The Optimist, a flat-bottomed, hard-chine, pram-bow dinghy, first came to our bay in 1986 and has been training our youngest sailors ever since. In fact, the Optimist is the dinghy in which young people of the world learn to sail. It is sailed in 110 countries and by over 150,000 kids. It is the only dinghy approved by the International Sailing Federation exclusively for sailors under 16. And over 50 percent of the dinghy skippers at the Sydney Olympics were former Optimists sailors. It has been called "a bathtub that breeds the best sailors," and is simple enough for an 8-year old and exciting and technical enough for a 15-year old. Jim Lyman and Donna Powers were Event Chairs, Sandy Lindenbaum was Race Committee Chair, and Michael Silverman was the Scorekeeper. They all did a great job, considering the wind didn't cooperate and racing was delayed almost two hours. Managing to keep these youngsters occupied and within sight is no easy task, as many of these skippers have never raced before. So hats off to the management team that provided these young children a venue to test their skills and at the same time have a really good time. Let the naysayers who claim that sailing in America is dying out come to KYC and Manhasset Bay and see the future of our sport!

Results for the KYC Opti Invitational: Please note that the top 10winners will be listed as well as all local sailors. This is a change from the usual reporting of only the top three winners - let's highlight these young kids for their efforts! White Class (24 boats): 1. Ian Storck (Centerport), 2. Charlie Morris (MBYC), 3. Kristen Bomkamp (Centerport), 4. Tracy Doherty (SCYC), 5. Laura Wefer (NBSA), 6. Nick Lobley (MBYC), 7. Robert Simkins (Centerport), 8. Joan Glackin (Centerport), 9. Mackenzie Needham (Shelter Island), 10. Robbie Jordan (MBYC). Also sailing in the White class from our area: Patrick Reardon (PWYC), Clare McIntee (MBYC), Catryn Silbersack (MBYC), James Lehembre-Shiah (MBYC), Ryan Reardon (PWYC), Elizabeth Einhaus (PWYC), Patrick Ferro (PWYC), Katherine Andromidas (PWYC), and Alexandra Andromidas (PWYC). The results of the Blue Class (43 boats): 1. Matt Wefer (NBSA), 2. Evan Read (MBYC), 3. Colin McFaul (Seawanhaka), 4. Wilkie Jordan (MBYC), 5. Molly Hodson (PWYC), 6. Christian Gordon (PWYC), 7. Connor Needham (Shelter Island), 8. Ben Lobley (MBYC), 9. Sean McIntee (MBYC), and 10. Patrick Jacobitti (Centerport). Local sailors include: Ted Melittas (PWYC), Patrick Molligo (PWYC), Katherine McCarthy (PWYC), Robert Wands (PWYC), Josh Dell (KYC), Meredith Krim (MBYC), Lindsay Sterns (PWYC), Devon Kenger (KYC), Brandon Henne (PWYC), Joe Duarte (KYC), Margaux Rand (KYC), Margot Cyprus (MBYC), Laura Cornachio (MBYC), Laura Doyle (PWYC) and Alex Heid (MBYC). Results for the Red Class (13 boats): 1. Austen Anderson (NBSA), 2. Wesley Yland (Centerport), 3. Eamon Glackin (NSBA), 4. Jessica Nees (PWYC), 5. Tommy Keegan (Centerport), 6. Daniel Landa (Douglaston), 7. Collin Leon (Seawanhaka), 8. Ali Swanson (Orient), 9. Caroline Doyle (PWYC), and 10. Marina Gluckman (Orient). Eddie Einhous (PWYC) also sailed in this fleet. Congratulations to all our young sailors - may you all have a terrific summer of sailing! A footnote: This last division, with only 13 boats, was the most competitive of the fleets. The young man who won this division, Austen Anderson, came in 2nd in the Optimist North American Championships, which is one of the premier youth yachting events on the annual calendar. As many as 150 sailors, representing up to 20 countries competed at the Texas Corinthian YC from June 26-July 2. In order to compete, sailors qualify in their home countries to be eligible to be entered in the regatta as a member of their national team. The host country, this time the US, was allowed to enter up to 30 sailors.

Port Washington YC was RC for the weekend of July10-11. There was no wind on Saturday and racing was cancelled, and Sunday results were unavailable as press time. The Thirsty Thursday group was out in force, and the results of their racing follows. Division I (6.03 nm, Course DJ, 6 boats): 1. Avalanche, Al Albrecht, 2. Free-Fall, Bill McFaul, and 3. Promise Kept, Sandy Lindenbaum. Division II (5.73 nm, Course DC, 4 boats): 1. Happy Daze II, Tom Egan, 2. Vision, Marc Epstein, and 3. Donna J, Jeff Wenger. Division III (5.73 nm, Course DC, 5 boats): 1. En Passant, Bob Ebenau, 2. Tootsie, Ron Fink, and 3. Sundance, Joel Ziev. No competitors in Division IV. Division Catamarans 6.03 nm, Course DJ, one boat): 1. Andy Ledins Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Port Washington News|
Copyright ©2004 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News