News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents

Last Sunday, March 7, was cold and windy in the early morning hours. By the time our frostbiters were at the starting line, the wind had diminished somewhat, but not the cold weather. With Manhasset Bay a bit choppy, skippers and crew were in for a very wet day of sailing. The wind was strong enough for Race Committee to consider setting a "no jibe" course, but the wind held at an acceptable level for five races without setting the safety course. When it cranked up at the end of the fifth race, RC called it a day and sent the sailors to shore. No complaints were heard from the teams, as it was a bitterly cold day on the water. Ted Toombs and Matt Cornachio, on #514, were first for the day. There was a tie for second place, between Matt Kelley/Lynn Kochendorfer (#603) and Steve Moore/Lois Moore (#510), which was broken in favor of Kelly/Kochendorfer as they had two first place finishes to Moore/Moore's one, giving #603 second place and #510 a third for the day.

Four legends of America's Cup sailing Tom Whidden (Essex, Conn.), Brad Butterworth (New Zealand), the U.S.A.'s Hank Haff and England's William Fife III (both deceased) have been named as the 2004 inductees to the America's Cup Hall of Fame. The inductees will be honored on the occasion of the Rolex America's Cup Hall of Fame 12th Annual Induction Ceremony to be held Thursday, June 10, 2004. Some information on each of the nominees: Nobody in America's Cup history has sailed in the afterguard of more successful Cup boats than Hank Coleman Haff (1837-1906), who was skipper and/or tactician of four winners between 1881 and 1895. As of 2004, only Nathanael G. Herreshoff, C. Oliver Iselin, and Dennis Conner have matched his remarkable record. Tomas A. Whidden (1948 -) was the most successful America's Cup tactician of the 1980s, helping to win three of the contests (1980, 1987, and 1988). He has been active with the Cup ever since. "When I was 16 my dream was to become a sailmaker and race in the America's Cup," said Whidden of his years as a junior sailor on Long Island Sound. He fulfilled both wishes: as a sailmaker he became president of North Sails, and, after he earned Dennis Conner's respect by besting him in ocean races, Whidden was asked by Conner to help out with the ultimately successful Freedom campaign. In the Cup's long history, no other afterguard member has won so many races in succession as Bradley William Butterworth OBE (1959 - ). As tactician aboard three winning boats (New Zealand's Black Magic in 1995 and 2000, and Switzerland's Alinghi in 2003), Butterworth set a new Cup record with 15 consecutive America's Cup race victories. William Fife III (1857-1944) The designer of two of Sir Thomas Lipton's early Cup challengers, as well as hundreds of other beautiful, fast yachts, William Fife III (1857-1944), who is (sometimes referred to as William Fife, Jr.,) was born into his trade in his father's and grandfather's shipyard in Fairlie, Scotland. By the age of 30 he was designing and building noted racing boats for clients who included many Americans and Canadians. With G.L. Watson, Fife dominated the design of large sailing yachts in Britain in the 1890s before Watson turned his attention to the design of steam yachts.

These four sailing greats join a list of sailing luminaries from past years, including Port Washington's own Ed du Moulin and Vic Romanga. Others who have made the Hall of Fame from 1993-2004 include: Charles Barr, Jr., John Bertrand, Baron Marcel Bich, Sir Peter Blake, Alan Bond, Edward Burgess, W. Starling Burgess, Malin Burnham, Dennis Conner, Russell Coutts, Briggs S. Cunningham, Sir Michael Fay, William P. Ficker, Sir James Hardy, Nathanael G. Herreshoff, F.E. "Ted" Hood, Sherman Hoyt, C. Oliver Iselin, Gary Jobson, Arthur Knapp, Jr., William I. Koch, Sir Thomas J. Lipton, Harry "Buddy" Melges, E.D. Morgan, Henry Sturgis Morgan, Emil "Bus" Mosbacher, Jr., Charles E. Nicholson, Sir Morris Rosenfeld, Stanley Rosenfeld, Tom Schnackenberg, George L. Schuyler, Henry Sears, T.O.M. Sopwith, George Steers, John Cox Stevens, Olin J. Stephens, II, Roderick Stephens, Jr., R.E. "Ted" Turner, and Harold S.Vanderbilt, For a complete list of past recipients, go to

Speaking of the America's Cup, seems there is a movement afoot to have a repeat of the 2001 America's Cup Jubilee Regatta in Cowes. Cowes Yachting is behind a bid to persuade the World Class 12m Yacht fleet to come back to Cowes to stage a major Regatta in 2006/2007 when there are plans for an ISAF Centennial World Championship. After the 150th anniversary event held in 2001, which produced enormous amounts of goodwill among the 12m owners, there is a strong possibility of success for a repeat visit of this spectacular fleet. Cowes has proved itself well able to host such an event following the America's Cup Jubilee and there is no doubt that a gathering of this fleet of America's Cup thoroughbred racing yachts would have enormous support and following in Cowes, the home of the original America's Cup. For those who missed the chance to see the magnificent 12 meters in action, this is great news.

A Long Island woman has been named to represent the United States at the 2004 Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF (International Sailing Federation) World Championships. Kaity Storck from Huntington will compete with Leigh Kempton from Island Heights, NJ on International 420's in the Girls Doublehanded division. The championships will be sailed July 8-17, 2004, in Gdynia, Poland, and is open athletes who will not reach their 19th birthday in 2004. Racing will take place on the Bay of Gdansk in the following classes (events): Hobie 16, Laser, and Laser Radial, International 420 and Mistral (boardsailing). The rest of the team includes: Paige Railey, Clearwater, FL - Girls Singlehanded; Reed Johnson, Toms Rivers, NJ - Boys Singlehanded; Zach Brown and Graham Biehl, both from San Diego, CA - Boys Doublehanded; Nancy Rios, Naples, FL, Girls boardsailing; and Harry Newkirk, Gulf Breeze, FL and Tommy Fruitticher, Pensacola, FL - Open Mulithull. Additional information about the U.S. team members: World/

There's more news coming from the International Olympic Committee and the ISAF President. After some discussion, the Qualification System for the 2003 Olympic Sailing Regatta has been amended to increase the entry quota for the 420 Women's class (from 4 to 5), the 49er (4 to 5), the Tornado (3 to 4), Star (3 to 4) and Yngling (3 to 4). Stay tuned to who will fill these extra spots. Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Port Washington News|
Copyright ©2004 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News