News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents

The 24th Manhasset Bay Race Week, held over two successive weekends, Oct. 19-20 and Oct. 26-27, has come and gone, signaling the end of the summer/fall sailing season. Over ninety boats came to Manhasset Bay to enjoy the terrific sailing that is offered to skippers/crew this time of year. Races were held on three of the four days, as extremely high winds on Saturday, Oct. 19 forced the Race Committee to cancel racing for the day. But subsequent days found all teams out on Long Island Sound racing in good wind. Sue Miller, Regatta Chair set up two race "circles" to accommodate the number of boats, with Principal Race Officer (PRO) Gene Bowler, manning the White Circle, while Sue was the PRO for the Red Circle. In essence, the Race Committee runs two regattas simultaneously with the intent of keeping the starting line manageable. Always a great regatta for the sailors, this year did not disappoint. Judging from the high spirits and happy faces during the social hour waiting for the final results pending protests, and also during the Awards Ceremony, these sailors had a great time. North Sails provided some quite funny commentary to accompany the photos of the three days of racing.

The results of the 24th Manhasset Bay Race Week (Boat Name, Skipper, Affiliation): Red Circle #1: 1. Sirena, Loeb, New York YC, 2. V-Max, Pipin, Chicago YC, and 3. More War Stories, Bayer, Knickerbocker YC. Red Circle #2: 1. Challenge IV, Jeffrey Willis, Lloyd Harbor YC, 2. Brown Eyed Girl, Scott Dinhofer, Indian Harbor YC, and 3. Maxine, William Ketcham, American YC. Red Circle #3: 1.Wanderer, Bill Cushman, New York YC, 2. USA41, Brendan Brownyard, Sea Cliff YC, and Quintessence, Roger Widmann, New York YC. Red Circle #4: 1. USA109, Jeff Johnstone, Ida Lewis YC, 2. Cygnette, William Mayer, New York YC, and 3. Falcon, Mark Minkus, New York YC. Red Circle #5: 1. Soulmates, Adam Loory, Huguenot YC, 2. Lora Ann, Richard du Moulin, Larchmont YC, and 3. Walrus, Al Minella, Huguenot YC. Red Circle #6: 1. Salvage, Alan Townsley, YRALIS, 2. Talisman, Marco Birch, Breakwater, and 3. South Wind, Walter and Joy Pierson, Indian Harbor YC. White Circle #1: 1. Hustler, John Esposit0, City Island YC, 2. Jonrob, John Storck Jr., Storm Trysail YC, 3. Wild Thing, Richard Rubel, Lloyd Harbor YC. White Circle #2: 1. Hilaria, David Florence/Hoe Shultz-Heik, Larchmont YC, 2. Eclipse, Damian Emery, MSSA, and 3. Kincsem, J. Esdorn, American YC. White Circle #3: 1. Amethyst, Douglas Davies, South Bay Cruising Club, 2. Chaika, R. Coar/J. Judson, City Island YC, and 3. Arcadia, Quentin Thomas, Douglaston YC. White Circle #4: 1. Dreadlocks, Jeff Hammer, Lloyd Harbor YC, 2. Lunatic Fringe, Bill Lehnert, and 3. Chinook, Edward Austin, City Island YC. White Circle #5: 1. Happy Wanderer, Bruce Byers, Centerport YC, 2. Happy Daze II, Thomas Egan, Port Washington YC, and 3. B-Line, Mark Corbisieto, North Shore YC.

Two Perpetual Trophies were awarded at the fall series. The Ted Clark Trophy, awarded to the best overall performance in the Fall Series PHRF division, was given to John Esposito from City Island YC who was skipper on Hustler (J29). The John B. Thomson Sr. Memorial Trophy, awarded for best overall performance in combined IOR, IMS and one-design divisions, was given to David Florence and Joe Shultz-Heik, Larchmont YC, skippers on Hilaria (J105).

The warm weather sailing season is over, and many of the boats that had a home at a mooring on Manhasset Bay are hauled or ready to be hauled, only to spend some lonely months parked in a boat yard waiting for next season's sailing to begin. But some results have become available from those wonderful summer-fall days on Manhasset Bay when the sun was high in the sky and mother nature cooperated with good winds. The Knickerbocker YC Junior Sailors, headed by Perry Lengton, competed up and down Long Island Sound, gaining experience, having fun and loving the sport of sailing. The evening at the yacht club was a lot of fun, especially due to the "ha ha" instructor's award, and the annual entertainment provided by the junior sailors. With no juniors graduating out of the program, expectations are high that the KYC sailors will move into top position in the racing fleet next season. Special thanks are extended to Perry Lengton for his tireless efforts throughout the year on behalf of the junior sailors. The season results for the Juniors at KYC: Best Opti Sailor (girl/boy): Leah Feldman, Asher Feldman. Best Blue Jay Skipper: Julie Lengton. Best Blue Jay Crew: Danielle Powers. Most Improved Blue Jay Skipper: Carrie Morea. Most Improved Blue Jay Crew: Jori Layton. Best Laser Sailor: David Lindenbaum. Most Improved Laser Sailor: Sam Eichner.

Final results have also become available from the Cow Bay Cruising Association (CBCA) more commonly known as the Thirsty Thursday racers. The results of each division from the Spring-Summer Series, Summer-Fall Series, and Columbus Day Weekend Race: Division I (Spring-Summer): 1. Free Fall, William/Carol McFall, 2. Avalanche, Al Albrecht, and 3. Zero Gravity, Tony Dalia. (Summer-Fall): 1. Zero Gravity, 2. Avalanche, and 3. Free Fall. (Columbus Day): 1. Avalanche, and 2. Promise Kept, Sandy Lindenbaum. Division II (Spring-Summer): 1. Xcite, Yalcin Tarhan, 2. Vision, Marc Epstein, and 3. Donna J, Jeff Wenger. (Summer-Fall): 1. Excite, 2. Happy Daze II, Tom Egan, and 3. Vision. (Columbus Day): 1. Vision, and Irish Blessing, Ed Gillen. Division III (Spring-Summer): 1. Tootsie, Ron Fink, 2. En Passant, Robert Ebenau, and 3. Sundance, Joel Ziev. (Summer-Fall): 1. Tootsie, 2. Sundance, and 3. Serenity, Jacques Blinbaum. (Columbus Day): 1. Tootsie, 2. En Passant, and 3. Serenity. Division IV (Spring-Summer): 1. Tscheuss, Uwe Kordts, 2. Quaker II, Stephen Lapham. (Summer-Fall): 1. Reality, Peggy D'Alessandro. Division V (Spring-Summer and Summer-Fall):.Renegade, Andy Ledins.

Correction: Bernard Shore, captain of Déjà Vu, and his crew from the EMS Port Washington Fire Medics, won the Guy La Motta's Cannonball Regatta in the First Division, and was the overall winner. Charlie Cannam, skipper of Charlie's Boat, out of the North Shore YC, won the Guy La Motta's Cannonball Regatta in his division. Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Port Washington News|
Copyright ©2002 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News