News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents

The Port Washington Chamber of Commerce held its annual installation of officers and directors at a special dinner at Fish Kebab Restaurant on Sept. 12. The chamber was honored to have Nassau County Legislator Craig Johnson and New York State Assemblyman Tom DiNapoli perform the swearing in ceremonies. Calling the Port Washington Chamber of Commerce "unique," both praised the work of the chamber, noting it is one of the most active and effective chambers on Long Island. They pointed to the success of HarborFest, HarborSafe, Octoberfest and the "Try Port First" directory, as well as other Chamber of Commerce projects that not only help the businesses, but add enormously to the quality of life here in Port Washington.

The chamber honored four people with the 2002 Community Service Award. They are James Eisenman, Toni Carter, Lucy Rabano and Town of North Hempstead Supervisor May Newburger.

Chamber President Warren Schein praised Eisenman for his many years of service as the chamber's vice president and his many contributions as a graphic designer and environmentalist. He was the founder of the chamber's HarborSafe Program and the creator of the "Try Port First" directory.

Schein thanked honorees Toni Carter and Lucy Rubano for their contributions to the HarborFest. They conceived of and organized the HarborFest Craft Show, which is one of HarborFest's biggest attractions. They have volunteered for many other community projects, including a very successful holiday toy and food drive.

Schein also had high praise for honoree Town of North Hempstead Supervisor May Newburger, calling her one of the staunchest supporters of the chamber for many years. He said that her encouragement and assistance made it possible for the Chamber's major goals to be achieved. These include the creation of the Greater Port Washington Business Improvement District (BID) and the annual HarborFest. Her personal commitment to our community has resulted in both the economic and aesthetic revitalization of Port Washington.

The Port Washington Chamber of Commerce officers and directors for 2002-2003 are the following:


President- Warren Schein, Town of North Hempstead

1st Vice President: G.A. "Stretch" Ryder, Thomson Industries

2nd Vice President: Phyllis Joseph, Landmark on Main Street

3rd Vice President: J.P. Shields, Shields Bros. Plumbing and Hardware

Secretary: Charles A. Schnier, D.C, Port Washington Chiropractic office

Treasurer: Leslie Ann Jacobi, HSBC Bank


John DiLeo, Jr., John DiLeo & Son Landscapers

Richard Garofalo, Anthony's World of Floors/Mint Condition

Faye Gillespie, Town Planner Community Calendar

Nancy Gitomer, Sales Representative

Jodi Sharfman Goldstein, L.M.T./Twin Pines

Doreen Hannwacker, North Fork Bank

Ayhan Hassan, Shish Kebab/Fish Kebab/Mediterranean Marketplace

James Kallenberg, Jimmy's Shoes/Sirius

George Martin, Haven Marina

Lucy Mazany, State Bank of Long Island

Sal Milazzo, Milazzo Insurance Agency

Judy Ray, Carnel's Printing & Copy Center

Roy Smithheimer, Great Port Washington BID

M. William Solomon, All Port Travel

Andrew Trinchitella, Trink's Automotive Specialists

Edna Turner, Twin Pines

William Walk, D.D.S.

(Ed.'s note: Many thanks to Bobby Polay for her help with this article) Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Port Washington News|
Copyright ©2002 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News