News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents

SOS INC. of Fruitland, ID, the manufacturer of Sospenders branded inflatable pfd's is voluntarily recalling approximately 7,200 automatic inflatable personal flotation devices (PFD). Approximately 300 defective Hammar units in one lot of 500 were loaded incorrectly and will not inflate the vest. This recall impacts all PFD's sold under the Millennium product label, as well as the Hammar rearm kits. SOS INC. has made the decision to recall all Hammar products for 100% safety inspection. These units were sold to consumers by West Marine between March 2002 and August 2002.

As was reported in this column on August 15, the Knickerbocker Cup was postponed until the summer of 2003. But the Continental Airlines Regatta, which is normally held as part of the Knickerbocker Cup, took place as usual on August 22 in New York Harbor. This year the competition was somewhat different, as the international match racing skippers were occupied with other events, which prevented their participation in the Continental Regatta and the Knickerbocker Cup. So instead of professional sailors on the competing PHRF boats and J105s, the boat owners were skippers and their crew consisted of VIPs from Continental Airlines. With winds of 15 to 25 knots, five members of Knickerbocker YC ran three races in New York Harbor. Local sailors who were part of the Race Committee included Bert Lowatsky, Bob Ebeneau, Peter Rosenberg, Ed Tolley and Joel Sterling. Because additional boats were needed to fill out the J105 fleet, Knickerbocker YC Commodore Jeff Wenger, on board his boat, the Donna J, along with crewmember Michael Aingorn, competed in the three races. At the end of the day, VIPs from Continental Airlines, sailors, crew, and Race Committee enjoyed a cocktail party at Pier 17, where they enjoyed a beautiful view of the harbor while snacking on delicious hors d'oeuvres.

On a warm Thursday evening, August 15, the Manhasset Bay Junior YC held its annual Junior Sailing Awards. Port Washington YC held its awards dinner on Friday, August 16, with the Knickerbocker YC giving out awards to junior sailors on Sunday, August 18. Results for MBJYC follow, with PWYC and KYC awards listed in next week's column. The results for the MBJYC: Novice Optimist Boy/Girl: Robbie Jordan/Meredith Krim, Most Improved Intermediate Optimist Boy/Girl: Evan Read/Gabriel Salvatera, Most Improved Advanced Optimist Boy/Girl: Wilkie Jordan/Louise Browning, Most Improved Novice Blue Jay Boy/Girl: Jeff Izzo/Victoria Bellinski, Most Improved Advanced Blue Jay Boy/Girl: Mike Zito/Whitney Bushey, Most Improved Laser Boy/Girl: Beau Carucci/Carrie Read. Most Improved 420: Mark Cornachio/John Lawrence. Instructor's Awards: Optimist: Charlie Morris, Novice: Cynthia Cifolo, Midget: Matt Cornachio, and Junior: Francesca Capone. Winners of Perpetual Awards: Haire Trophy: (awarded to a boy or girl who has demonstrated qualities as a leader, sportsman, yachtsman, who best typifies the ideals of MBYC): Joe Vogel, Chapman Trophy (awarded to a junior for the most distinguished achievements in events outside the JSA): Alex Whipple, Helmle Trophy (awarded to a boy and girl who display the best seamanship): Tedd Himler/Ellen Simon, Cow Bay Trophy (awarded to the most outstanding sailor at the JSA of LIS Optimist Regatta: Bitsy Whipple, King Trophy (awarded to a boy or girl who has achieved the best percentage performance in JSA Open events): Matt Himler, Graf Memorial Trophy (awarded to a boy or girl who best displays sportsmanship, desire and enthusiasm for yachting): Catherine Rainone, Kings Point Trophy (awarded to boy or girl for best crew): Alex Horowitz, Commodore's Cup (awarded to the most outstanding sailor in the Junior Program): Matt Himler, Junior Shipshape Award (awarded to the boy or girl in the Junior Sailing Program who best demonstrates seamanship through his or her care of either their own or club-owned boats and equipment): Doug Horowitz, and the Louise T. Haney Award (awarded to a junior sailor, who is 13 years of age or older, enrolled in the MBJYC sailing program and who has demonstrated the qualities of perseverance, consistent effort, sportsmanship, dedication to the sport of sailing, and who exemplifies the mission of MBYC): Marissa Diaz, who was also the recipient of this award from its inception in 2000.

North Shore YC was Race Committee for August 17-18. On Saturday, August 17th, the results for the Sonar Class: 1. #375, Housemartin, Beth/Greg Danilek, 2. #396, Delight, Bob Kirtland, and 3. #652, Sounder, Rick Jordan/Jeff Shane. On Sunday, August 18th the top finishers were: 1. #451, Ping, Sue Miller/John Browning, 2. Sounder, and 3. Delight. MBO results for Saturday: 1. #9, Miss B Haven, Grace Allen, 2. #25, Blackjack, Adrian Alley/George Graf, and 3. #5, Escapade, Ned Baker/Dick Moore. Sunday's results for the MOB fleet: 1. Miss B Haven, 2. #11, Bob Adams/Curt Champlin, and 3. #21, Blue Chip, Chip Allen/Einar Haukeland.

The Thirsty Thursday group held their CBCA Fall Series Race on August 22nd with 14 boats on the starting line in three divisions. The results: Division 1 (Course UTC, 7.31 nm): 1. #777, Freefall, Carol and Bill McFaul, 2. #51676, Promise Kept, Sandy Lindenbaum, and 3. #39516, Avalanche, Al Albrecht. In Division II (Course BCBA, 8.02 nm): 1. #40774, Xcite, Yalcin Tarhan, 2. #216, Happy Daze II, Tom Egan, and 3. #53384, Vision, Marc Epstien. Winners in Division III (Course BC, 5.95 nm): 1. #257, Sundance, Joel Ziev, 2. #152, Serenity, Jacques Blinbaum, and 3. #18, Tootsie, Ron Fink.

Port Washington YC was Race Committee for the weekend of August 24-25. On Saturday the Sonars and MBOs were out ready to compete. On Sunday, the Knickerbocker One Designs (KODs) joined the two other fleets. On both days, RC gave the fleets one race. Results for Saturday: Sonars (Course BKB): 1. #451, Ping, Sue Miller/John Browning, 2. #652, Sounder, Rick Jordan/Jeff Shane, and 3. #436, Lark, Bill Brakman. Sonar results for Sunday (Course ZB): 1. Ping, 2. #396, Delight, Bob Kirtland, and 3. Lark. Saturday results for the MBOs (Course BAB): 1. #9, Miss B Haven, Grace Allen, 2. #20, Southerly, Tom Godfrey/Don Richardson, and 3. #5, Escapade, Ned Baker/Dick Moore. MBO Sunday results (ZB): 1. Miss B Haven, 2. #11, Bob Adams/Curt Champlin, and 3. #17, Frolic, Bill Martin. The results for KODs on Sunday (Course ZB): 1. #15, Dybbuk, Roy Israel, 2. #11, Bon Chance, Matthew Temares, and 3. #14. Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Port Washington News|
Copyright ©2002 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News