News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents

Matt Himler, 15, from Manhasset Bay YC has won the 2002 Commodore Law Trophy sailing a Laser Radial at the Indian Harbor Yacht Club in Greenwich, CT on July 1-2. This prestigious award is given to the winner of the Commodore Law Trophy Regatta, which is the JSA Finals for the Bemis and Smythe National Championships. The regatta was open to any JSA member sailing a Club 420, a Laser, or a Laser Radial who met at least one of the following criteria: 1. Finished in the top 30 percent of their division of the Eastern Districts, Western Districts, Larchmont Junior Race Week or 420, Laser, Laser Radial Race Week in 2001; 2. Sailed in the 2001 Area B semi-finals of the Sears, Bemis or Smythe; and 3. Was invited to sail in the 2001 US Sailing Junior Olympic National Sailing championship.

Bright sunshine and 12-15 knot winds on calm seas provided a picture-perfect day for the last day for 93 teams competing at the New York Yacht Club Race Week at Newport, RI, held July 19-21. After three days of racing, seven races were completed for each of 10 one-design classes: Mumm 30, J/35, J/120, J/105, J/80 and Melges, Farr 40, J/44, ID35 and Farr 395. In the Farr 395 competition, Craig Albrecht of Glen Head, who sails on Avalanche with his father Al Albrecht, and is a familiar sight on our bay, won six of his seven races (1-1-1-1-1-2-1) to post 6.5 points and secure more than an 11-point lead over the rest of his fleet. Craig attributed his dominance in the relatively new one-design class to preparation. "It's basically spending more time in the boat and having good people onboard," said Albrecht. In the regatta's final race, Albrecht and his seven-person crew aboard Avalanche went out to sail their own race and do as well as possible. "We felt we had an advantage upwind and a bit more speed. The breeze was consistent, but with 10-degree oscillations. We expected the usual, which the breeze going right, but when we looked at the Farr 40s ahead of us they were going better on the left, so we just went with the shifts and sailed with what we had." Also at this regatta was Jim Richardson, skipper on Barking Mad, a Farr 40, who has sailed in Manhasset Bay YC Fall Series in the past. Richardson and this team won a Rolex timepiece for outstanding overall performance, which Richardson attributed to consistent sailing. He said, "we didn't try to hit any home runs out there; we tried to sail well and not make any mistakes." Race Week this year introduced a unique and successful split-week format. The first segment of the nine-day regatta, was four days of competition for 66 entries divided into nine IMS and PHRF classes, followed by a distance race with 54 entrees, with the final segment the three-day one design regatta.

The yacht, Courageous, which won the America's Cup in 1977 with Ted Turner at the helm, and Stretch Ryder from Port Washington as crew, will be re-christened and launched as the official Rhode Island State Yacht on Saturday, July 27 at the Hinckley Yacht Yard in Portsmouth, RI. Andy MacGowan, who now lives in Rhode Island, but grew up sailing on Manhasset Bay, has been very involved in the one million dollar restoration of Courageous, a 67-foot, classic 12-meter. Courageous has a new keel, mast, spars, rigging and sails, and her deck and transom have been restored to their 1977 configuration. She will be re-christened in the traditional style of breaking a bottle of champagne on the bow of the boat, before a crowd that is expected to include members of the winning 1974 and 1977 America's Cup campaigns, including Dennis Conner (skipper in 1977 along with Ted Turner) and Ted Hood, who won the Cup on Courageous in 1974, along with Rhode Island State dignitaries.

Calling all sailors - resumes invited. The Royal Bermuda Yacht Club (RBYC) invites amateur and professional skippers to apply for 13 of the 16 unseeded skippers' berths in the 2002 ADT Gold Cup, to be raced in Bermuda October 12-20. The winners of the Bacardi and York Cups will fill the three remaining berths. A three-day round robin qualifier round is planned aboard International One Design class sloops, with the top six skippers advancing to Round One of the ADT Gold Cup. Entry deadline is August 1. The confirmed list of seeded skippers will be announced later this summer. "With its 32-skipper format and qualifying events, the ADT Gold Cup is one of the few regattas in the world to offer amateur skippers and up-and-comers a chance to match race against the professionals," said RBYC Commodore Les Crane. "While we will miss Russell Coutts and some of the other America's Cup skippers this year, there are a number of highly-qualified skippers that we've already heard from and we expect strong competition for one of the largest purses in match racing." Past winners of the Gold Cup now preparing for the America's Cup 2003 include Russell Coutts (six-time winner), Chris Dickson (two-time winner), Rod Davis, Peter Gilmour (two-time winner), Andy Green, Peter Isler and defending champion Peter Holmberg. For more information, log onto their website,

Race results for bay racing for Saturday, July 13 have become available. Port Washington YC was RC for the weekend, and set a course to take advantage of the beautiful southerly: from "B", out to Sands Point, to Hewlett Point and back to finish in the bay. The results: Sonars: 1. #316, Elusive, Alan Helman/Ed King, 2. #421, Weekend Warrior, Dan Simon/Bill Simon, and 3. #573, Selhun, Bahar Gidwani/TaoDao. Top sailors in the KOD fleet: 1. #8, Second Chance, Perry Lengton, 2. #14, (no name available) and 3. #7, Knick Knack, Arthur Kass. MBO fleet winners: 1. #11, (no name available) 2. #25, Black Jack, Adrian Alley, and 3. #21, Blue Chip, Chip Allen/Einar Haukeland.

The CBCA Fall Series Race #1 (Thirsty Thursday), held on July 18, brought 15 boats to the starting line. Winners in Division I - 3 boats (Course, ADI, 5.06 nm): 1. #128, Zero Gravity, Tony Dahlia, 2. #777, Free Fall, William/Carol McFaul, and 3. #51676, Promise Kept, Sandy Lindenbaum. In Division II - 6 boats (Course ADY, 4.71 nm): 1. #40774, Xcite, Yalcin Tarhan, 2. #216, Happy Daze II, Tom Egan, and 3. #42222, Donna J., Jeff Wenger. Division III - 5 boats (Course ADY, 4.71 nm): 1. #18, Tootsie, Ron Fink, 2. #244, En Passant, Bob Ebenau, and 3. #257, Sundance, Joel Ziev. Division IV - one boat (Course ADY, 4.71 nm): 1. #248, Renegade, Andy Ledins. Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Port Washington News|
Copyright ©2002 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News