News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents

On Sunday, July 8, there was no bay racing. Instead, the Knickerbocker YC held their annual Knickerbocker Day Race. Both the one-design fleet and the big boats competed. The Sonars and the MBOs completed three races. Congratulations to Mike McAllister and his crew on Gumby (Sonar) and to Grace Allen and her crew on Miss B Haven (MBO) for their three first place finishes. First the Sonars: Results of the Race #1: 1. Gumby, #515, Mike McAllister, 2. #436, James Macedenio, and 3. Delight, #396, Bob Kirtland. Race #2 results: 1. Gumby, 2. Sounder, #652, Rick Jordan and Jeff Shane, and 3. Delight. Results for Race #3: 1. Gumby, 2. Delight, and 3. Sounder. For the MBO fleet, Race #1: 1. Miss B Haven, #9, Grace Allen, 2. Blackjack, #25, Adrian Alley and George Graf, and 3. Escapade, #5, Ned Baker and Dick Moore. Race #2: 1. Miss B Haven, 2. Escapade, and 3. Catch 22, #22, Bob Adams and Curt Champlin. Race #3 results: 1. Miss B Haven, 2. Escapade, and 3. Olin Express, #3, Jack Antinori and Bob Prokop. Readers may recall that the Olin Express, the oldest continually sailed Olin Stephens-designed boat, was recently launched after seven years of renovations. It's good to have her back in the waters of Manhasset Bay.

Also competing in the Knickerbocker Day Race were ten PHRF boats. Two races were completed for two Divisions. Owners' names provided when available. The results of first division of the PHRF boats (Division IV): Race #1: 1. Rainmaker, #777 (Swan 40.2), Bill McFall 2. Matriarch, #87738 (CTM 30), and 3. Banshee, #35038 (ID35), Kevin Lowes. Race #2 results: 1. Banshee, 2. Chieftan, #43520 (Frers 45), and 3. Matriarch. In Division V, results of the first race: 1. Femme Fatale, #41499 (X 99), 2. Promise Kept, #260 (Beneteau 375), Sandy Lindenbaum, and 3. Arcadia, #380 (Beneteau 375). Results of Race #2: 1. Femme Fatale, 2. Promise Kept, and 3. Amethyst (J 27).

On Thursday, July 12, 16 boats raced in the Thirsty Thursday series. The Race Committee gave all boats Course AMCB. The results: Division I: 1.Xcite, #40774, Yalcin Tarhan, 2. Promise Kept, #260, Sandy Lindenbaum, and 3. Vision, #53384, Marc Epstein. Division II: 1. Nemisis, #87922, Bruce Logan, 2. Happy Daze II, #216, Tom Egan, and 3. Irish Blessing, #466, Ed Gillen. Division III: 1. Charlies Boat, #43754, Charlie Cannam, 2. Il-behavior, #USA3, Peter/Todd Ilberg, and 3. Serenity, #152, Jacques Blinbaum. Race #1 of the Summer-Fall Series was held on July 19. Seventeen boats sailed in four divisions. Results for Division I may change due to a protest; any changes will be reported next week. Division I (Course DJ): 1. Rising Star, #33877, Yehuda Rosenstock, 2. Rainmaker, and 3. Vision. Division II (Course DJ): 1. Happy Daze II, 2. Nemisis, and 3. Irish Blessing. Division II-A (Course D): 1. Reality, #63, Peggy D'Alessandro, 2. Quaker II, Stephan Lapham. Division III (Course D): 1. Tootsie, #18, Ron Fink, 2. En Passant, #244, Bob Ebenau, and 3. Sundance, #257, Joel Ziev.

Bill Koch, winner of the 1992 America's Cup has invited two high school Sea Scouts to join his sailing team at the 150th Anniversary of the America's Cup Jubilee race in Cowes, England this summer. The America's Cup Jubilee regatta is being held on the same course where the boat America won the 100 Guinea Cup on behalf of the New York Yacht Club in 1851. Close to 200 yachts, many of them past America's Cup winners, are scheduled to compete from August 19-25 to commemorate sport's oldest competitive event. Koch and 40 team members will sail in two yachts; America, the boat he used to win the America's Cup in 1992 and Il Moro de Venezia, the Italian challenger, he defeated. Robert Dickerson, a 18-year old Boca Raton High School honors student who recently obtained the rank of Quartermaster, the highest honor awarded in the Sea Scouts, is one of two teenagers selected nationally to join Koch's crew. Anne Marie Simiele, a 17-year old honor student from Magnificent High School in Cleveland, Ohio, who is a Boatswain in the Sea Scouts, is the second teenager selected.

While on the subject of Cowes: On July 30, some 25 New York Yacht Club yachts will start a voyage from Newport, RI, to Cowes, England, for the America's Cup Jubilee on the Dockwise Yacht Transport (DYT) submersible yacht-carrier Super Servant 3. This represents 1,536 linear feet of yacht. Among those making the 3,100 nautical-mile voyage for the 150th Anniversary of the America's Cup are twelve America's Cup 12-Meters, including Columbia (1958), Intrepid (1967 and '70) and Freedom (1980) - America's Cup winners. Then there are such historically significant yachts as Ticonderoga, Black Knight, Nirvana and Marilee. Divers will secure the yachts directly above cradles on the submerged deck of Super Servant 3. Next, the ship will be pumped out and slowly rise from the waters of Narragansett Bay, lifting the yacht safely out of the water. Finally, the cradles, holding the yachts, are welded and strapped into place on deck.

Russell Coutts of the Alinghi Challenge for the America's Cup has won the Swedish Match Cup, the eighth and final event of Swedish Match Tour Year 2 in Marstrand, Sweden. The victory was especially trying for the skipper as he battled food poisoning and dehydration over the last two days of the regatta. This is Coutts' second win on the Swedish Match Tour. He previously won the Colorcraft Gold Cup in Bermuda last October. Final Standings: 1. Russell Coutts (Alinghi Challenge); 2. Luc Pillot (FRA); 3. Magnus Holmberg (SWE/Team Stora Enso); 4. Bjorn Hansen (SWE); 5. Gavin Brady (Prada Challenge); 6. Jes Gram-Hansen (DEN/Team Marienlyst); 7. Jochen Schuemann (Alinghi Challenge); 8. Andy Green (GBR Challenge); 9. Jesper Bank (Victory Challenge); 10. Jesper Radich (DEN/Team Steff Houlberg); 11. Peter Gilmour (OneWorld Challenge); 12. Johnie Berndtsson (SWE); 13. Dean Barker (Team New Zealand); 14. James Spithill (OneWorld Challenge); 15.Chris Dickson (Oracle Racing); 16. Bertrand Pace (Team New Zealand). Local sailor and Past Commodore of Knickerbocker YC, Ted Weisberg, has recently been re-elected President of the Match Racing Association (MRA). This will be his second term at the helm of the MRA. For more information on the Swedish Match Racing, go to

On September 15-21, Noroton YC will host the 2001 Sonar World Championships. Noroton YC is the birthplace of the Sonar Class and is host to one of the largest fleets in existence. For more information, contact Wesley W. Whitmyer, Jr,, or the Sonar website: Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Port Washington News|
Copyright ©2001 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News