News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents

On Saturday, June 9th, two of Manhasset Bay YC best women sailors, Sue Miller and Stephanie Baas, won the Queens Cup - YRA Women's Championship and the Commodore Mendez Perpetual Trophy (Larchmont YC Trophy). They had two second-place finishes and a first (three races with no throw-outs) very shifty conditions. The Cup was raced in Ideal 18's, with 14 boats on the starting line from all the area clubs. The team had good starts for all five races, and read the shifts well, which was just the right formula for winning the Cup. The last race was five legs - and Sue and Stef picked up two boats on the second downwind leg. With stiff competition from the other teams, and wind not cooperating with shifts all over the map, this win was especially sweet. Congratulations to both Sue and Stef. This qualifies them to race in the Area B Championship on August 25th in New London, CT. Good luck to both of you in August.

(Left to right): Stephanie Baas and Sue Miller, winners of the Queens Cup - YRA Women's Championship.

Weekend racing was cancelled on Saturday, June 23 due to weather conditions - thunder, lightening and high winds. There were light winds for Sunday bay racing. Knickerbocker YC was Race Committee and ran three races for the Sonars and KODs (Knickerbocker One Design) who were out on the Bay. The results for Sonars: Race 1: 1. Delight, #396, Bob Kirtland, 2. # 515, Gumby, Mike McAllister, and 3. Weekend Warrior, #421. Dan Simon/Bill Simon. Race 2 results: 1.Sidewinder, #466, Eric Brandvold, 2. Elusive, #316, Ed King/Mary Lu Dempsey, and 3. Delight. Results for Race 3: 1. Delight, 2. Gumby, and 3. Weekend Warrior. Race results for the KODs: Race 1: Bon Chance, #11, Matthew Temares, 2.Knick Knack, #7, Arthur Kass, and 3. Cygnette, #9, Bernard Shore. Race 2 and 3: 1. Bon Chance, 2. Knick Knack, and 3. Dybbuk, #15, Roy Israel.

Race results for CBCA (Cow Bay Cruising Association), known as Thirsty Thursday: Division I, Course DTI: 1. Zero Gravity, #128, Tony Dalia, 2. Vision, #53384, Marc Epstein, and 3. Xcite, #40774. Yalcin Tarhan. Division II results, Course DTI: 1. Happy Daze II, #216, Tom Egan, 2. Irish Blessing, #466. Ed Gillen, and 3. Anticipation, #52, Ed Veprovsky. In Division III, the race results are unofficial as there may have been a reporting error for second and third place. Results are reported as received by deadline; any corrections will be noted next week. For Division III, Course DC: 1. Sundance, #257, Joel Ziev, 2. Serenity, #152, Jacques Blinbaum, and 3. Illbehavior, #USA3, Peter/Todd Illberg.

The Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) of North America, governing authority for sailing competition at colleges and universities in the U.S. and Canada, has recognized four individuals for their service to the organization. James Rousmaniere (Southbury, Conn.) was presented the Lifetime Service Award. Gary Bodie (Hampton, Va.) and Thomas Farquhar (Marion, Mass.) were recognized for Outstanding Service; and Michael Moes (Vermilion, Ohio) received the Student Leadership Award. All but Rousmaniere will be newly inducted into the ICSA Hall of Fame, and their names will be added to the permanent display located in the Robert Crown Center at the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, Maryland. Rousmaniere was previously inducted in 1998.

A few weeks ago this column listed the top sailing colleges in the nation. The following is an update on three ICSA (Inter-collegiate Sailing Association) spring sailing competitions. After leading the first day of the 2001 ICSA Women's North American Championship, the University of Hawaii Rainbows knew this championship title was within their grasp. Although they fell to third place on day two of this three-day event, the Rainbows were only four points out of the winning position. The final day of racing, held on Boston's Charles River, saw the Rainbows take the title with 185 points overall. Defending champion Dartmouth College placed second with 200 points, followed closely by St. Mary's College of Maryland with 206. The event, held May 29-31, 2001, was co-hosted by Harvard University and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. A win loss record of 18-3 earned the Georgetown University Sailing Team (GUST) their first-ever ICSA title after they bested sailors from 11 other colleges to win the 2001 ICSA /Ronstan North American Team Racing Championship. The three-day event, co-hosted by MIT and Harvard University was sailed on the Charles River (Cambridge, Mass.) from June 3-5, 2001. A total of 126 three-on-three races were completed. Finishing second overall was Harvard University with a 16-5 record. Dartmouth College was third with 15-6. After eighteen hard-fought races, the Tufts University won the 2001 ICSA North American Coed Dinghy Championship by just two points. The Jumbos' 215-point total, representing an average finish of sixth-place, was closely followed by Harvard University with 217 and Dartmouth College, who had 220. The championship was held June 6-8, and was hosted by the University of Rhode Island. The URI fleet of Vanguard Flying Juniors (FJs) was sailed off the beach at Wheeler Beach State Park (Narragansett, R.I.), providing ample opportunity for spectators to catch the action. Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Port Washington News|
Copyright ©2001 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News