News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents

Last week's column mentioned the Port Washington YC YRALIS Day Race and the winners in the various divisions. More information on this race has become available. William McFaul, skipper of Rainmaker, won the Buccaneer Trophy, awarded to a member of the Port Washington YC who completed the 20.3 mile race in the fastest corrected time. Bill and his crew crossed the finish line in 3 hours, 26 minutes, 11 seconds. Congratulations to all on board Rainmaker. Also, due to an error in the formula of the scoring spreadsheet in Excel, results received from the Day Race were incorrect in Division II. The corrected results: 1. #40774, X-Cite, 2. #118, Wild Things, and 3. #21122, The Real Macaw.

Last month at their organizational meeting, the Cow Bay Cruising Association (CBCA), affectionately called Thirsty Thursdays, elected the following people to their 2001 Board: Sandy Lindenbaum, commodore; Joel Aiev, treasurer; Ron Fink, handicapper; and Benet McMillan, scorer. Racing began last Thursday on May 24,. All three divisions had course ADA. The results: Division 1: Promise Kept, #260, Sandy Lindenbaum, 2. Rainmaker, #777, Bill McFaul, and 3. Xcite, #40774, Yalcin Tarhan. Division II winners: 1. Reality, #62, 2. Anticipation, #52. Ed Veprovsky, and 3. Irish Blessing, #466, Ed Gillen. Winners in the third division: 1. En Passant, #244, Robert Ebenau, 2. Serenity, #152, Jacques Blinbaum, and 3. Tootsie, #18, Ron Fink.

Ted Weisberg, past commodore of Knickerbocker YC, who is the current president of World Match Racing Association, and a director of the Swedish Match Grand Prix Sailing Tour, is in Croatia as part of the Swedish Match Tour's ACI Cup 2001, May 24-30. Thirteen skippers, representing seven America's Cup syndicates, will take to the waters off the coast of Split, Croatia, for this sixth of eight events of this leading international sailing series. The Swedish Match Tour's ACI Cup 2001 brings the skill and drama of match racing to mass audiences in Split Harbor. Participants include: Magnus Holmberg, Bertrand Pace, Dean Barker, Gavin Brady, Peter Gilmour, James Spithill, Andy Green, Chris Dickson, Jesper Radich, Jes Gram-Hansen, Karol Jablonski, Tonci Antunovic and Ante Vanjaka. Several of the skippers have been involved with the Knickerbocker Cup here in Port Washington in the past or have been invited to participate this year in Manhasset Bay in late August: Bernard Pace, Peter Gilmour, James Spithill, Jes Gram-Hansen, and Andy Green. The Swedish Match Grand Prix Sailing Tour is comprised of eight of the world's leading professional sailing events and is proving to be the ultimate battleground of sailing. While sailing in boats and conditions that differ from the LouisVuitton Challenge Series leading up to the finals of the America's Cup, the top skippers from the Swedish Match stand a good chance of taking the big prize, the auld mug, in 2003. With only two more events to complete the Tour, Magnus Holmberg is the leader, with a slight edge over second-place Bertrand Pace.

American skipper Steve Fossett and his international crew of 12 aboard the 125-foot catamaran PlayStation, have set a new Miami to New York world sailing speed record. Their time of 2 days, 5 hours, 55 minutes, and 8 seconds beats the previous mark by 15 hours and 55 minutes. The previous record for this passage (2 days, 22 hours, 50 minutes was set by Data Explorer, co-skippered by Bruno Peyron (France) and Cam Lewis (USA), in June, 1999. Readers may recall that Cam Lewis spoke at the Port Washington Public Library a few years ago as part of the Nautical Center's Lecture Series, and will be a featured speaker at a future date for the Nautical Center.

Issac E. Smith, local Port Washington boat builder, built the first 22 Star boats in 1911, at the request of several yachtsmen who wanted to develop a class which would provide good racing for skippers of moderate means. Thus was born the Star boat, which proved to be remarkably fast for its size, especially in light airs - perfect for Manhasset Bay and Long Island Sound. The bow and transom of the first Star boat, Little Dipper, are displayed on the walls of Manhasset Bay YC, recognizing the "Father of the Stars," "Pop" Corry, who was a member. The Nautical Center of the Port Washington Library has an abundance of archived information of the Star class, and plans to restore one of the earlier boats for public display.

The Star class is actively sailed today worldwide. Last week, the Olympic Sailing Committee (OSC) of US SAILING, national governing body for the sport, announced the 2001 US Sailing Team members in the Star class. Rankings are based on attendance and performance at a series of qualifying regattas determined by the individual class. In the highly competitive Star class, with only one point separating the teams ranked first through fourth, two tie-breaking methods were employed to determine the rankings. The following members of the 2001 US Sailing Team are listed in ranking order one through five: 2000 Etchells World Champion Vince Brun and Mike Dorgan (both San Diego, Calif.); 1998 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year Paul Cayard (San Francisco, Calif.) and 1992 Star Olympic Gold Medalist Hal Haenel (Los Angeles, Calif.); 2001 Miami Olympic Classes Regatta Champions John MacCausland (Cherry Hill, N.J.) and Sean Delaney (Harrisburg, Penn.); 2000 Olympic Gold Medalists Mark Reynolds (San Diego, Calif.) and Magnus Liljedahl (Miami, Fla.); and 2000 IMS World Champion Terry Hutchinson and Andrew Scott (both Annapolis, Md.). Paul Cayard and Terry Hutchinson competed in Manhasset Bay as part of past Knickerbocker Cups, with Paul Cayard winning the Cup one year. Come 2002, Terry Hutchinson will be in the after guard on Stars and Stripes, Dennis Conner's challenge for the America's Cup. The 2004 Olympic Regatta is scheduled for August 13-29, in Athens, Greece.

Since everyday life brings challenges to all of us, your reporter thought readers may enjoy the following story that lends a somewhat different perspective of the word "challenge." Vinny Lauwers, the first disabled person to sail solo, non-stop around the world has won the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year with a Disability award. A paraplegic sailor who uses a normal wheelchair in a modified layout below deck and who crawls about when above, Lauwers suffered his disability after a motorcycle accident in 1990. He then had to re-learn his sailing skills over a seven-year period while building his own yacht in a wheelchair, despite breaking his back for the second time. He has undertaken several ocean voyages, including two Sydney-Hobart races, and competed as skipper the 1999 Osaka Cup, a two-handed race from Australia to Japan. Last August, he became the first sailor with a disability to sail solo around the world. His non-stop and unassisted voyage took seven months and two weeks, starting in December of 1999 from Melbourne and ending on August 10 of 2000. The trip was not without glitches - he had to contend with severe rigging trouble and major steering problems along the way. Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Port Washington News|
Copyright ©2001 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News