News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents

Coaches of Schreiber's winter sports team, athletes and parents took over the high school gymnasium on March 12. The occasion was the annual ceremony honoring the athletes from Schreiber who participated on winter sports teams. The coaches of the specific teams gave players individual awards, such as the coach's award, most valuable player (MVP) and most improved player (MIP).

This year's sports awards were poorly attended in comparison to previous years, possibly due to its being rescheduled several times due to the weather. Despite the poor attendance, the ceremony still went on in its usual manner. Things got under way with a brief introductory speech given by athletic director Rose Bonanno. After this, the junior varsity teams were called up one by one, and the coaches presented player awards. The first of the varsity teams to be called up were the boys and girls bowling teams. Unfortunately, one of the players on the boys team had showed up for the awards. The coach, Ron Castello jokingly explained that his team was young and most of the players were already in bed. The girls bowling coach, Jack Grande, congratulated his team on their third place finish in the conference and proceeded to present his awards. The Most Improved player award went to Brynn Stepinowski, the most valuable player award was given to Michele Ginese, and the coach's awards were given to Nitya Rehani and Rosi Alaimo.

Jeannine Cuttita, coach of the girls gymnastics team, called her team "small but sturdy," and explained how they finished second in the conference, and will be moving up to Conference One next season. She also described how the team's "positive attitude and willingness to learn" made for a successful season. The MIP award was given to Amanda Lincer, and the coach's awards were given to Alanna Bares and Samantha Moskowitz.

The next coach to present awards to his team was boys winter track coach, MacArthur McKinnon. The MIP award was given to Andy Fratalacis who coach McKinnon says "Giving everything he has, and always shows improvement." The coach's award went to veteran winter track runner, and team captain, Gopal Vemuri.

The Girls Varsity Basketball team was the next to be recognized. Coach Stephanie Joannon talked for some time about this year's team and how they were constantly trying to overcome the loss of players. First the team lost Paris Michele when she moved to California, and then later in the season they lost top scorer Sara Walsh to injury. Joannon presented Coach's Awards to Molly Catchen and Deirdre O'Connor. The MIP was presented to Lisa Vogely who coach Joannon said, "came the further in the season, and really learned to appreciate the game." In addition to this award, Vogely was also voted to the All-Conference team this season. Finally, the MVP went to Sara Walsh, who is the team's leading scorer, hitting her 1,000th career point during a game against Herricks earlier this season. Walsh is one of only three Schreiber basketball players in history to accomplish this.

The next team to be recognized was the Boys Varsity Basketball team. The team's coach, Philip Coppola, gave a long speech thanking the players' parents, and describing how the team went through, "a long adjustment period, introducing and learning a new system." The coach also expressed that he felt the record did not exemplify the type of team they were. Coach Coppola awarded the MIP to Chris Mendoza who he said was initially picked as a reserve player but worked his way up to becoming a starter. The Coach's Award was presented to Kevin Vanderbilt who was one of the only returning players on the team and the MVP went to Ray Ross who Coppola said has, "all the talent in the world."

At the end of the night the various teams broke off to meet individually with their coaches. Despite the evening's poor attendance, and its being held in the gym as opposed to the auditorium, it did well to honor the athletes who worked hard throughout the season. Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Port Washington News|
Copyright ©2001 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News