News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents

Port Washington YC hosted the JSA of LIS (Junior Sailing Association of Long Island Sound) Blue Jay Race Week on Monday and Tuesday, Aug. 7-8. A total of 96 boats with over 230 sailors, plus 33 instructors participated in this annual event. Sailing conditions were excellent on Monday with four races completed in a steady 15 knot wind with gusts to 20 knots. While experienced sailors look forward to these wind conditions, especially in August, readers should know that many of these juniors were novices, and some of them were attending their first regatta. Hats off to both the sailors and the Race Committee for making Monday's sailing an exciting and safe experience for these juniors. Tuesday brought very little wind, with only one more race completed.

Race results for each division follow (Skipper/crew - last names only). Black Novice Division (12 boats): 1. Northrup/Lucas (Pequot YC), 2. Schimenti/Bruno (American YC), 3. Briggs, C./Briggs, M and Kiernan (American YC), 4. Silbersack/Bushey (MBYC), and 5. Shore/Losquadro (Centerport YC). White Novice Division (14 boats): 1. Furnary/Decaro and Gordon (American YC), 2. Jacob/Bass (Sea Cliff YC), 3. Fischer/Curran (Norwalk YC), 4. Page/Thaler (Cold Spring Harbor YC), and 5. Campbell/Konrad (Larchmont YC). Yellow Open (23 boats): 1. Schmierer/Sabatino (Northport YC), 2. Elwell/Toplyn (American YC), 3. Tierney/Brighton (Peaquot YC), 4. Frelinghuysen/Jake (Noroton YC), and 5. Kellog/Miller (Beach Point YC). In the Green Open Division (20 boats): 1. Henner/Wisner, S. (American YC), 2. Anderson/Bell (Riverside YC), 3. Janncke/Nunes (Belle Haven YC), 4. Tatzel, R./Tatzel, RJ (Seawanaka YC), and 5. Shore/Martino and Luuff (Indian Harbor YC). Winners in the Red Open Division (24 boats): 1. Whitehead, A./Gardner (Centerport YC), 2. Swiggett/Olf (Cold Spring Harbor YC), 3. Lamont/Wenzler (Larchmont YC), 4. Sharp/Mitchell (Cedar Point YC), and 5. Jaccoma/Weaver (Larchmont YC). Four teams of juniors won Sportsmanship Awards: Laura Sharp and Charles Mitchell (Cedar Point YC), Timmy and Kyle Ondrey and Jimmy Mulderrig (Port Washington YC), JP DiMartino and John Geist (Huntington YC) and George and Brando Casalicchio (Cold Spring Harbor YC). Billy Rupp (Norwalk YC) won the Marlinspike Contest and Justin Lamont (Larchmont YC) won the Navigation Contest. Local juniors (skipper/crew) who participated in the regatta included: Okeefe/Gordon and McIntosh (Port Washington YC) and Enscoe/Vogel, J. and Vogel, D. (Manhasset Bay YC), Bourguet/Wassmer and Conti (PWYC), Cotter, M/Schmidt and Decicco (PWYC), Connelly/Forman and O'Donnell (PWYC), and Lorusso/Simon and Cotumaccio (MBYC), Kassl/Cosgrove, S. (PWYC), Ondrey, T./Ondrey, K and Mulderrig, J. (PWYC), Diaz/Record and Izzo (MBYC), Keneally, J./Sutherland and McGann (PWYC), Nees/Capoziello (PWYC), Shea.B/Shea, P (PWYC) and McGovern/Abruzzo (PWYC).

A regatta as large as the Blue Jay Race Week takes quite a bit of organization and planning, with help from many people. As regatta chairperson, Joan MacInness ran a terrific and fun-filled two-day event. She was assisted by Ed Condon, race committee chair; Bob Schmidt, arbitrator; Maureen Benfield, registration; Monica Jawski, housing; and Louise Cotter and Michelle McGann, food. Caitlin Abruzzo, a talented high school student, designed great looking T-shirts that were given to each participant.

Manhasset Bay YC held its 68th Annual Race Week Regatta on Thursday - Sunday, Aug. 10-13. The weather was overcast throughout the regatta, with a severe rainstorm on Friday evening. But the wind was terrific. As Commodore Peter Miller noted in his opening remarks at the Awards Ceremony, "We made history this week. The Sonars completed 15 races during the regatta." Results of each division: Manhasset Bay One Design (MBOD): 1. #9, E. Haukeland/G. Allen (MBYC), 2. #5, R. Moore and E. Baker (MBYC), and 3. #17, Bill Martin (MBYC). Sonar results: 1. #375, Greg/Beth Danilek (MBYC), 2. #396, Bob Kirtland (MBYC) and 3. #515, Mike McAllister (MBYC). Knickerbocker results: 1. #9, Bernie Shore (KYC), 2. #1. E. Greene (KYC) and 3. #8, Perry Lengton (KYC). Ideal 18 results: 1. #177, 2. #175, and 3. #173. In the PHRF division: 1. #43810, Al Albrecht (PWYC), 2. #8, Joe Falzone (DYS), and 3. #257, Joel Ziev (North Shore YC). In the junior division, Blue Jay results: 1. #7224, Laura Browning (MBYC), 2. #7204, David Lindenbaum (KYC) and 3. #6592, John Keneally (PWYC). In the 420s: 1. #21, Vaugh Read (MBYC), 2. #7, David Cornachio (MBYC), and 3. #22, Matt Cornachio (MBYC). In the Laser division: 1. #144030, Jason Hill (PWYC), 2. #162036, Scot Linthicum (PWYC) and 3. #143976 - name unavailable. In the Optimist division: 1. #911, Tom Matesich (MBYC), 2. #8724, T. Himler (MBYC) and 3. #4010, S. Enscoe (MBYC). Winners of the Perpetual Trophies next week.

Race #3 of the Summer - Fall Thirsty Thursday Series was held on Aug. 3 in stormy conditions. Race results for that race are provisional finishes as sail numbers were hard to read and some boats may have withdrawn because of the weather. Division I finishers: 1. Zero Gravity, #128, Tony Dalia, 2. Xcite, #40774, Yalcin Tarhan, and 3. Rainmaker, #777, Bill McFaul. In Division II: 1. Quicker, #42064, Bruce Logan, 2. Happy Daze II, #216, Tom Egan, and 3. Rascal, #22726, Graham/Stovall. And in Division III: 1. Sundance, #257, Joel Ziev, 2. Charlie's Boat, #43754, Charlie Cannam, and 3. Tootsie, #18, Ron Fink. There were no finishers on Thursday, Aug. 10.

Update on America's Cup developments. Paul Cayard, skipper of AmericaOne, who took Italy's Prada to the final and deciding ninth match of the Louise Vuitton Cup last February, has sold his syndicate's boats and resources to Oracle Racing Inc., headed by Lawrence J. "Larry" Ellison, the chairman and CEO of Oracle Corporation. After conducting a feasibility study, Cayard determined that the $30 million available under corporate sponsorship was approximately $40 million short of the $70 million needed to be competitive in 2003. According to Cayard, "The landscape a landscape where there were going to be four teams with $80 million budgets." Oracle Racing now becomes the St. Francis YC challenger and Chris Dickson has been tapped as the likely skipper for the Oracle challenge. The question remains if Cayard will be a part of the new syndicate. Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Port Washington News|
Copyright ©2000 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News