News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents

Intel Corporation and Science Service awarded $600,000 to 300 students from across the country, as well as the schools they attend, as semifinalists in the Intel Science Talent Search (Intel STS). Nine students at Schreiber High School achieved this honor. They are Benjamin Brod, Stacey Dankner, Lucas Hanft, Vandita Khullar, Kristin Kovner, Christopher Kroppmann, Viviana Risca, Benjamin Sobel and Alexander Talcott. For the first time in the 59-year history of this prestigious science competition, each of the 300 semifinalists will receive $1,000 in recognition of their achievements in science. In addition, each of the 178 schools that places a semifinalist in the competition will receive $1,000 per semifinalist to be used in support of the school's science and math education programs.

Alumni of the STS, often considered the "Junior Nobel Prize," hold more than 100 of the world's most coveted science and math honors, including three National Medal of Science winners, nine MacArthur Foundation Fellows, two Fields Medalists and five Nobel Laureates.

The semifinalists, high school seniors ranging in age from 15 to 19, were selected from 1,517 applications submitted from 530 high schools in 48 states, the District of Columbia, the Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico. New York fielded the most semifinalists with 154 (51 percent), followed by Maryland with 19 (6 percent) and Virginia with 15 (5 percent). Of all semifinalists, 149 were females (49 percent), 151 were males (51 percent). Schreiber High School had the most semifinalists on Long Island and the fifth highest number in New York State.

Students' individual research reports are judged for their research ability, scientific originality and creative thinking. The research projects cover all disciplines of science including chemical, physical, mathematics, engineering, social and biological. All Intel STS entries were reviewed and judged by top scientists from a variety of disciplines and were overseen by Dr. Andrew Yeager, a physician at Emory University Medical School and pioneer in blood cell transplant.

In addition to the scholarship award, all semifinalists and their teachers are honored with certificates of merit. Science Service recommends these students to select colleges and universities for admission and financial assistance.

From these 300 semifinalists, 40 finalists will be announced January 24, 2000. These 40 will make an all-expense-paid trip to Washington, D. C. to the Science Talent Institute (STI), where they will participate in final judging. On the basis of a rigorous round of interviews, 10 top scholarship winners will be selected. Schreiber High School has been asked to host this announcement of winners in our area and we will do so at 10:00 a.m. on January 24, 2000. Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Port Washington News|
Copyright ©2000 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News