News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents

No doubt many readers are following the excellent reports of the America's Cup Trials for the Louis Vuitton Cup in The New York Times. Weekly reports in this column will continue to remind readers of lead America's Cup competitors from our area. Here they are: On AmericaOne, skipper Paul Cayard, Ralf Steitz and Joel Belsky. On Stars and Stripes, Dennis Conner, skipper; Tom Whidden, Chuck Brown and Robby Myles. Additional coverage is available on ESPN2 and on the web. An especially good site is

Andrea Watson and Louise Haney continue their coverage of the Annual Frostbite Regatta. In addition to the final results reported last week, perpetual trophies were awarded at the ceremony after the two-day regatta. Following are the winners of the perpetuals and a short description of the award: Pedro Lorson - Robert W. Fraser Memorial Trophy (winner of the Past Commodores' Race); Doug Clark - Henry A. Alker Perpetual Trophy (outstanding MBYC skipper) and the Sam Wetherill Trophy (outstanding interclub skipper); Bud Dailey Jr. - Geoffrey C. Hazzard Frostbite Trophy (outstanding performance in the penguin class) and the Baker-Tayler Founders Trophy (highest percentage in any class).

On the second day of January 2000, Jerry Morea was awarded the Order of the Loon at the annual meeting of the Frostbite YC for his gymnastic performance during a race in December. The award, in part: "On the day in question, we had just rounded the leeward mark in pretty good shape. As he hopped on the rail and leaned back in his usual spirited manner, Jerry's toes completely missed the hiking strap, and over he went for a brisk dip in Manhasset Bay. 6.5 - 6.0 - 5.5 - 6.5 - 3.5 came the scores for his dive from the crash boat. I (skipper Steve Moore) stopped the boat, and in my usual compassionate way, uttered calm words of encouragement to Jerry while he swam back quickly. As I pulled him back on board, I chided him gently for abandoning his post under fire. Then, I calmly pointed out the actual location of the hiking strap and quietly offered a suggestion that he familiarize himself with it." In spite of their difficulties, these two managed to score third overall on the day in question.

On a more serious note: new officers were elected to the board of the Frostbite YC: Malcolm Hendry, commodore, Jim Lyman, vice-commodore, Paul John Patin, rear commodore, Terry Bouchard, fleet captain, Philip Mitropoulos, Harbor Master, Jamie Anderson, dock captain, and Bob Black, secretary.

On Sunday, Jan. 9, wind was light (4-8 knots) and the weather warm for the nine teams that competed in eight races, including a crew race. Top skippers and crew: 1. Ted Toombs/Monique Gaylor (#514), 2. Doug Morea/Jason Hill (#653), 3. (tie) Jim Lyman/Ellen Federman (#29) and Steve Moore/Jerry Morea (#510). Doug Morea/Jason Hill (#653) won the crew race. Congratulations to Nichols Silbersack, a very much improved young sailor who came in sixth in the crew race. Nichols, 11 years old, sails IC dinghy #514 with his father, John. Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Port Washington News|
Copyright ©2000 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News