News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents

Real happiness was extended to your reporter this holiday season by the many beautiful and warm greetings she received. Some were complete surprises. All will continue to be treasured. From her desk are sent the very best of wishes for 2000. Also, a reminder to readers to send in news to share with other readers.

The start of the Past Commodores race won by Pedro Lorson/Mimi Berry, who received the Robert W. Fraser Memorial Trophy at the Awards Ceremony.

Andrea Watson and Louise Haney (who together wrote this column) attended the Awards Ceremony that marked the conclusion of the 69th Annual Frostbite Regatta, a two-day event that attracted 17 Interclub dinghies and eight Penguins from eight east-coast harbors. Thanks to La Nina, competitors enjoyed fair winds and warm weather. Noticed in the audience were many longtime, familiar and accomplished sailors, making the ceremony especially notable. Top skippers, crew in the Interclub division were: (1) Doug Clark/Felicity Ryan (MBYC), (2) Al Constants/Jackie Litman (Seawanhaka), (3) Paul-Jon Patin/Anne Patin (Larchmont), (4) Pedro Lorson/Mimi Berry (MBYC), and (5) Robert Munro/Francesca Monro (Larchmont). In the Penguin division, top skippers and crew: (1) Bud Dailey Jr./Sue Dailey (Potomac), (2) Malcolm Hendry III/Nick Nilsen (Centerport), and (3) Robert Shewan/Kathleen Shewan (Centerport). Malcolm Hendry is the new commodore of the Frostbite YC, elected by the membership at the Annual Meeting, Held on Jan. 1. Outgoing Commodore Greg Danilek handed over the gavel to Malcolm, who then adjourned the meeting.

For something different: At about 1:12 a.m. on Jan. 1, the first race of what may turn out to be the first regatta of the millennium in the United States and definitely the first race of the millennium on Manhasset Bay was held off Louie's dock. Ten hearty sailors competed in five round-robin races. Winners were Race 1: Pedro Lorson/Mimi Berry, Race 2: Steve Moore/Jamie Anderson, Race 3: Jamie Anderson/Patrick Slattery, Race 4: Dan Coughlin/Adam Bennet, Race 5: Pedro Lorson/Mimi Berry. Thanks to the Race Committee: Kevin Dailey, Cooper Duerr, Bud Dailey and Phil Pape. Additional thanks goes to Louie's Shore Restaurant who gave these ambitious sailors permission to use their dock during the regatta. Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Port Washington News|
Copyright ©2000 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News