Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News Logo An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents

A report about the Plandome Field and Marine Club and its subsidiary, the Sunfish Club, is timely. In season, every Sunday at high tide, the Sunfish Club conducts races in the southern end of the bay. This year there were 24 competitors. For the 10th consecutive year, Matt Walsh won the season championship. He beat the nine-year, non-consecutive record of Chuck Durban whom he (Matt) truly admired.

Plandome Sunfish in a downwind leg during one of the Sunfish Club's weekly Sunday races.

Matt credits three Sunfish sailors for having improved his skills: Chuck Durban, Ace Dalton and Fred Walthall. Walthall was secretary and starter for over 25 years. He has been replaced by his widow, Lucy, the current secretary and starter of the Sunfish Club.

An annual event needs to be mentioned: the President's Cup which is a Sunfish regatta sponsored by the parent organization. This year it was won by Matt. Number of boats: 10. Here are the top five skippers: 1 Matt Walsh, 2 John Hanley, 3 John Byrne, 4 John Blascovich and John Furlong (yes, four Johns). In computing scores to select the final 10 competitors, two elimination heats were run. The five men are all friends and volunteer firemen. The Plandome Field and Marine Club, founded in 1908, is open to any resident of the Incorporated Village of Plandome.

** Louie's Cup, a.k.a. Cannonball Regatta, was held on Oct. 10. The chairman of the committee was John Pickow. The results were made available by William James who organized the racing. The number of boats and top skippers follow:

Div I (7) 1 Baby Doe (Peter Heinz), 2 Kerry (Thos. Barry)

Div II (6) 1 Knick Knack (David Kass), 2 Charlie's Boat (Chas. Cannon).

Div III (5) 1 Lunatic Express (Pedro Lorson), 2 Ariel (Ron Dean).

Pedro Lorson (sailing a Snipe) won overall.

Something else deserves to be added: Ralph Heinzerling, sailing a Sunfish, finished third in Division III. His time was 1 3/4 hours. Weather: wind about 16 knots - overcast.

** Details about the Leukemia Cup and the CBCA Columbus Day Race will appear next week.

| home | Email the Port Washington News |
Copyright ©1998 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.
LinkExchange Member