Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News
News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents
The Awards Ceremony for MBYC's Annual Race Week Regatta on Sunday, Aug. 16, was a happy one. There was a welcome comfortable breeze, unfortunately too late for Sunday racing. But, as there had been good racing on Friday and Saturday, people were satisfied. Number of competitors: 101.

This year, the event was different because it had been reconstructed into a regatta, no longer "two weekends." And, an "event chairman" added: Beth Danilek. The better format was well received.

Commodore Bill Brakman, Peter Lorson (chair of the Regatta Committee) and Gene Bowler (chair of Bay Racing) made the presentations. Many expressions of appreciation were delivered, especially to the Race Committee.

Boats sailed in three groups. Races for Group A were held east of Execution Rocks; Group B inside of Plum Point and Group C off the Worry Wart in Manhasset Bay.

Tabulated results became available Sunday evening. There follow the number of competitors in the classes, and the names of the top ones: Handicap, Div. I (9) - 1 Yalcin Tarhan (YRA), 2 W & C McPaul (PWYC), 3 Al Albrecht (PWYC), Handicap Div II (6) - 1 Joel Ziev (NSYC), 2 Benet Macmillan (CBCA). Sonar (16) - 1 Greg/Beth Danilek, 2 Bob Kirtland, 3 Michael McAllister (all MBYG). Optimist (13) 1 Vaughan Read, 2 Mark Cornachio, 3 Stuart Enscoe (all MBYC). MBOD (11) 1 Grace Allen, 2 Champlin/Adams, 3 Godfrey/Richardson (all MBYC). Sunfish (10) 1 George Frooks, 2 John Blascovich, 3 John Byrne (all PFMC). Laser Radial (7) 1 Doug Morea (PWYC), 2 Scott Schnipper (PWYC), Colin Carrihill (MBYC). S Class (5) 1 William Riley (LYC). Shields (5) 1 Villehuchet/Schulz-H (LYC). Snipes (4) 1 Pedro Lorson (MBYC). Blue Jay (5) 1 Kevin Clemency (MBYC) KOD (5), 1 Roy Israel (KYC). IOD (4) 1 Tony Huston (LYC). Ensign (2) 1 Jon Simpson (YRA). Laser (1) and Etchells (1).

The perpetuals, eight in all, will be described next week.

Thirsty Thursday, Aug. 13, Course: BYB, CBCA-PHRF Rating

Div III (9) 1 Mac, 2 E-Nuf, 3 Sundance. Div II (7) 1 Tootsie, 2 Beowulf, 3 Friendship. Div I (7) 1 Freefall, 2 Vision, 3 X-cite. Course I-A (test scoring, 4) 1 Vision.

Re Port News Aug. 13, article headed "North Shore Yacht Club Receives New Trophy," was written just after Commissioning in May. On June 20, Bob Schmidt, sailing Barnstormer, won first place in the Sonar Class and was awarded the Stanley R. Rosenberg perpetual.

| home |
Copyright ©1998 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.
LinkExchange Member