Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News
News Sports Calendar Opinion Obituaries Table of Contents


On the Bay

Only five or six interclubs competed at MBYC last Sunday (12/7). The winning team was Pedro Lorson/Mimi Berry. Second place team was Mal Kelly/Felicity Ryan. Wind northwest 15-20 knots. Forecast of worse conditions no doubt kept other competitors away.

  • The annual meeting of the YRA-LIS was held Nov. 23 at Larchmont Yacht Club. Roger Shope, ex-officia president, showed a video tape of some of the year's highlights in New York Harbor and Long Island Sound. There followed awards earned by sailors of Manhasset Bay.

First, one-design: Knickerbocker-1 Rand Milton, 2 Roy Israel ... MBO 1 Grace Allen/Ralph Heinzerling, 2 Tom Godfrey/Don Richardson 3 Dick Moore/Ned Baker. Sonar 11 - 1 Bob Kirtland, 2 Beth/Greg Danilek, 3 Sue/Jim Miller (all MBYC).

Second, PHRF: YRA Spring 0-90 4th Al and Craig Albrecht (Avalanche PWYC), YRA Spring 93-150-2nd Thomas Egan (Happy Daze II PWYC), 5th Mary Dominique (Glory NSYC). YRA Fall 93-150-3rd Thomas Egan ... Sappho Trophy - 3 Tom Egan. Gitana Trophy - 2 Al and Craig Albrecht.

Tony Esposito (Hustler) of nearby City Island and winner of the Ted Clark Trophy for best PHRF in MBYC 1997 Fall Series also won 1st in both YRA Spring and Fall PHRF 93-150 and the Sappho Trophy.

  • Commodore Rich Predmore of the Cow Bay Racing Association on Dec. 4 presented The Thirsty Thursday and Columbus Day Awards for 1997. Here they are:

Div. I Avalanche (Al Albrecht) - 1st Championship Series, 1st Spring Series.

Solution (John Thomson) 1st Fall Series. Viper (Anthony Dalia) 2nd Fall Series. X-Cite (Yalcin Tarhan) 1st Columbus Day Race ... Div. II Promise Kept (Sandy and Leslie Lindenbaum) 1st Championship, 1st Spring, 2nd Fall. Chaparral IV (Uwe Kordts) 2nd Spring, Happy Daze II (Thomas Egan) 1st Fall, 2nd Championship, 3rd Spring.

Div. III Bang (Gerard Wall) 2nd Fall, Beowulf (David Deutsch) 2nd Spring, 3rd Fall, Windfall (Glenn Brink) 3rd Spring. Tootsie (Ron Fink) 1st Championship, 1st Spring, 1st Fall and in addition trophies to four Tootsie crew: Gerry/Michael Silverman, Todd Ilberg and Benjamin Helfat.

Commodore Rich Predmore announced that Bill McFaul will be next commodore. Bill and his wife Carol have been sailing in the series since 1974 in their boats named Free Fall (the first a Pearson 10M and the second a C&C 35). Some years ago he served a term as commodore.

| home |
Copyright ©1997 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.
LinkExchange Member