Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

The Penguins (Power Squadron) Take Over Long Island District 3

John Sanfilippo, AP of East Moriches became Commander of the United States Power Squadrons District 3 when he recited the oath of office at the Sheraton Long Island on Saturday, 27 March. The United States Power Squadrons, America’s Boating Club is the world’s largest nonprofit recreational boating fellowship and has been dedicated to safe boating through education since 1914.


With over 40,000 members in 450 local squadrons, USPS is also involved in community service and environmental issues.

District 3 is made up of 18 local squadrons, including the Oyster Bay Power Squadron, spread across geographic Long Island representing Long Island’s recreational boaters, both member and non-member. Squadron members teach safe boating to thousands of Long Islanders each year and participate in many community and environmental projects.

Commander Sanfilippo calls the squadron commanders under his watch the Penguin Commanders and believes the 18 L.I. squadrons must march in unison to build a safer, stronger future for local boaters. He says, hard work and plenty of fun is a recipe for great success.

USPS District 3 is a regional unit of the United States Power Squadrons - America’s Boating Club, which includes 18 local squadrons across Long Island. The United States Power Squadrons is the premier boating organization dedicated to “Safe Boating through Education” since 1914.

The District 3 web site is:; the USPS National web site is:

The members of USPS District 3 are: Bayside Power Squadron, Brooklyn Power Squadron, Captree Power Squadron, East Hampton Power Squadron, Great South Bay Power Squadron, Hempstead Bay Power Squadron, Jones Beach Power Squadron, Little Neck Bay Power Squadron, Manhasset Bay Power Squadron, Moriches Bay Power Squadron, Neptune Power Squadron, Old Field Point Power Squadron, Oyster Bay Power Squadron, Patchogue Bay Power Squadron, Peconic Bay Power Squadron, Sewanhaka Power Squadron, Smithtown Bay Power Squadron, and the South Shore Power Squadron.