Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Oyster Bay Wrestling Coaches Honored

Wrestling coaches Jay Davis and Doug Axman honored by their peers

Wrestling coaches Jay Davis and Doug Axman were both recently honored at the Nassau County Wrestling Coaches Association Annual Awards Dinner.

The dynamic duo were recognized and honored for the second time in three years by their fellow Nassau County coaches.  Coach Davis received the Nassau County Conference Coach of the Year Award.  Coach Axman was the recipient of the Nassau County Ray Downey Sr. Assistant Coach of the Year Award.

These special awards acknowledged their special talents, accomplishments and dedication to the wrestling program and student athletes.

Along with Coach Davis and Coach Axman, three Oyster Bay wrestlers were honored as well by receiving prestigious scholarships presented at the Coaches Association Wrestling Dinner. Jack Leguelaff received the Robert Bennett Sr. Memorial Scholarship, Ryan Arnel received the Ed Slater Memorial Scholarship and Rob Morgan the T. W. Promotions Scholarship.  These wrestlers were awarded these scholarships based upon their wrestling talents, dedication, discipline and character.

The wrestling team recently won their eighth team championship in the 12-year history of the program started by Coach Davis.  In addition, the Baymen sent a Nassau County record of seven individual county champions to the State Wrestling Championships.  Along with the many team championships, the Baymen Wrestling Program has produced: an All-State wrestler, 24 county champions, 45 All-County wrestlers and 47 League/Conference champions and place winners.

Over the years, the wrestling program has excelled athletically as well as developing hard working, dedicated and disciplined student athletes.  In addition to coaches Davis and Axman, many assistants, past and present, have been a major part of the program’s success.  They are: Greg Cappello, Kevin Cotter, Rob Piscitello, Mike Doria, Kyle Simensky and Joe Enea.

Congratulations to Coach Davis and Coach Axman as well as all the Baymen wrestlers and coaches over the years.