News Sports Opinion Obituaries Contents

Neither freezing temperatures nor a blizzard could stop the student athletes at Oyster Bay High School as they successfully concluded the winter sports season. The highlight of the season was the performance by the girls' fencing team who not only won the Nassau County Championship but was also the Nassau County Sportsmanship Award winners as well!

Additionally, both the boys and girls combined 7th and 8th grade basketball teams had undefeated seasons with the boys posting an 11-0 record and the girls finishing at 9-0. Basketball success continued as the Varsity Girls not only were also Class B semifinalists but also finished in second place in Conference B/C. The Varsity Wrestling team took second place in League 4B and also finished in 4th place in the Nassau County Tournament. Oyster Bay student athletes also garnered Scholar Team Awards in the following Varsity sports: Girls Fencing, Boys Fencing, Girls Basketball, Boys Winter Track, and Wrestling.

Individually, certain student athletes were noted with various awards. All Long Island honors went to Allison Putterman and Lauren Van Pamelon of the Varsity Fencing Team. All Nassau County honors were conferred upon the following Varsity athletes: Brian Tiyaloglu (Basketball); Alfred Lizza (Boys Fencing); Lauren Van Pamelon, Seanna Burke, Allison Putterman (Girls Fencing); Austin Huminski (Winter Track); and Joseph Montes, Patrick Cobbs, John Lander, Ryan Pullman, Ken Commons, Daniel Santibanez (Wrestling). All Nassau County Second Team honors went to Jill Capewell, Allison Competiello and Sara Kenn from the Girls Varsity Fencing Team. All Nassau County Honorable Mention honors were achieved by Ceallaigh Watts, Paula Petrovic (Varsity Girls Fencing) and Brian Cameron, Conor Kreye (Varsity Boys Fencing).

The following students were named All Conference: Patrick Linden (Boys Basketball); Kirsty Stearns and Tillie Mirman (Girls Basketball); Katelyn Collins, Jackie Henderson and Becky Kaplan (Girls Winter Track); Matt Hemme, Tim Collery, Stefan Tsourovakas, Mike Imburgia, Alex Meyer and Mike Collery (Wrestling); Austin Huminski, Steve Celauro, Sean Igoe and David Pevner (Boys Winter Track). All Division honors went to Varsity Girls Basketball teammates Alejandra Huerfano and Kristen Serikstad.

Finally, the following students won Scholar Athlete Awards: Brian Tiyaloglu and Jeff Bradke (Varsity Boys Basketball) and Brittany Ranaldo (Varsity Girls Basketball).

Congratulations are in order not only to the students recognized for their athletic and scholastic achievements but also to their teammates, coaches and parents and all those who help to make Oyster Bay athletics a positive and rewarding experience. Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot|
Copyright ©2006 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News