Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Lacrosse Squads Fall Short In Title Games

Star players rewarded with athletic scholarships

Both the Massapequa High School boys and girls lacrosse squads enjoyed terrific regular seasons, finishing, respectively, first and second in conference play.

However, the postseason turned out to be a different story, as both teams suffered disappointment in the final round of the Nassau County playoffs.

On May 29, the Chiefs lost the Conference I final to Syosset, 14-13. And a day later, on May 30, the Lady Chiefs also fell short, losing to Farmingdale in a 15-7 away game.

Going into the playoffs, Massapequa was ranked second in conference play to number one Farmingdale. In the championship game, Farmingdale jumped out to an 8-3 first quarter lead, but Massapequa, with the season on the line, battled back, scoring four goals before ultimately falling short as Farmingdale continued to score goals of their own. For Massapequa, Rory Sadoff had three goals and one assist, while Kelsey O’Brien chipped in with two goals and an assist. Jillian Phiefer kept Massapequa in the game with seven saves.

Massapequa advanced to the finals with wins over Hicksville and Port Washington. The sister team of Rosie and Madalyn Pimental had big games in the 17-3 win over Hicksville, while Kelsey O’Brien and Rory Sadoff were the offensive stars in the convincing 17-9 semifinal win over Port Washington.

For the season, the boys team finished 10-0 in regular season conference play and 15-2 overall. The girls team had a nearly identical mark: 9-1 in Conference 1A play and 15-3 overall.

Although the playoffs ended in disappointment, the season-long heroics of the lacrosse stars were not without rewards. As noted in the May 25 issue of The Massapequan Observer, up to 61 Massapequa High School seniors have signed letters of intent to play collegiate sports next fall. From both the boys and girls lacrosse squad, that includes: Paul Dillon, Adelphi University; James Fee, Salve Regina; Brendan Gleason, Stevenson University; Ryan Kirby, Towson University; Daniel Mueller, UMass—Amherst; Kelsey O’Brien, United States Naval Academy; Caitlyn O’Connell, East Stroudsburg University; Madalyn Pimental, University of Connecticut; Nicole Scicutella, Mount Saint Mary; Laura Waldron, Iona; Joey Whelan, Pace University; and Zachary Zorovich, Florida State University.