Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Massapequa Hall of Fame Inductees

Golf, Dinner Outing Funds MHS Scholarships

The summer heat wave took a break just in time for the Massapequa High Schools Hall of Fame Inc. to hold its 15th annual Golf Outing and Induction Dinner.

The event took place on Monday, Aug. 2 at the Town of Oyster Bay’s Woodbury golf course and Manor House. Seven Massapequa and Berner High School alumni and three staff members were honored.


Those inducted to the Hall of Fame are: Christine Walsh, MHS ’99, Andrew McCaffrey, MHS ’76, Richard Cassaro, BHS ’78, Vance P. Zider, BHS ’72, Bob Nelson, BHS ’76, James Karpen, MHS ’72 and Matthew J. Simeone, BHS ’76 to the Massapequa High School Hall of Fame. Three Community/Staff Honorees were also inducted. They are, Cynthia Krieg, Frank J. Flood Jr. and John Devine. Giving the honors were Masters of Ceremonies, former NFL star and Massapequa resident Gary Baldinger and Linda Hanna.

Prior to the induction, Hall of Fame President Mike Hanna and current MHS Principal James Grossane welcomed the guests, many of whom had just arrived from a day on the links. A highlight of the evening was when Directors Pauline Koller and Carol Ann Habeeb awarded 12 $2,000 scholarships to deserving MHS Class of 2010 members.

The day began with a mild day; one that organizers claimed was “one of the best days in our 15-year history.” That proved ideal for a round of golf at the Woodbury course. Throughout the day, up to 120 golfers took on the tournament-caliber course.

At around 4:30 p.m., some 170 guests began to arrive at The Manor House. The golfers who started arriving at about 5:00 p.m joined them. After freshening up, the golfers joined the other guests for the reception hour. That was followed by a buffet dinner served to 290 guests, all of whom contribute to worthy causes that will help to sustain Massapequa Schools as one of the premier school districts in Long Island. Among the school district programs being funded, for instance, is the Robotic Science Project.

In addition, the golfing event itself produced a string of winners with handsome results. Winners include: Men’s Long Drive: Bob Schwerdel and Malcolm Gilbert. Close to Pin: Peggy Avanzato and Kyle Higgins. Men’s Low Net (tie): Bob Schwerdel, Chris Purcell, Steve Pass, Tom John Doherty, Tom Lauritano, Bill Coles, and Rich Cassaro. Women’s Low Net: Hillary Hartung, Jeanette LaBarb, Nancy B., and Carlene Ingerroza. Women’s Calloway: Angela Maher, Barb Wardwell, Rosemary Reilly, and Carol Hartzell. Shoot Out winner: Bob Schwerdel.

“This was one of the best outings we’ve ever had,” said Mike Hanna. “It was one of the largest attended Hall of Fame dinners we’ve ever had, too.”