Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Medal of Valor Award for Massapequa FD

County Holds Special Ceremony To Honor Local Heroes

On Friday, July 29 Nassau County held its first annual emergency services summit with over 500 police, firefighters, EMTs, and hospital officials to reduce wait time that occurs during emergencies.

Ellis Henican was the master of ceremonies, while Nassau County Legislator and Public Safety Chair Dennis Dunne, along with County Executive Edward Mangano, and other local emergency officials and hospital staff authorities addressed the attendees and held panel discussions.

The following is a list of awards presented:

Medal of Valor Awards: Massapequa Fire Department: Executive Chief Steve Zimmerman, Lieutenant Robert Warnken, and Firefighter Ryan Zimmerman; in addition to members from Freeport, Lawrence, Long Beach, Lynbrook, and Woodmere.

Police Awards: Top Cop Life Saving Awards: Police Officers Daniel Doerrie, Mark Iovino, Charles Jovorowsky, Brian McQuade. Overall Top Cop Awards: Police Officers Peter Lang and Alejandro Perez. Distinguished Cop Awards: Police Officers Justin Schackne and Thomas Willbigg. Meritorious Awards: Police Officer Peter Sikinger and Lieutenant Frank Sabella. Top Detective: Detective John Lopiccolo.

2011 EMS Awards: Advance Life Support Provider of the Year: Richard Nevader, NSLIJ Health Systems. EMS Agency of the Year: Great Neck Vigilant Engine & Hook & Ladder Co. EMS Leadership Award: Lee Genser, Manhasset-Lakeville FD. EMS Educator of Excellence: Ernest R. Heeren, NC Fire-Police EMS Academy. EMS Communications Specialist: James Neitz, NSLIJ Health Systems Center for EMS. Physician of Excellence: Glenn Skow, MD, MPH, Great Neck Vigilant Engine & Hook & Ladder Co. Excellence in EMS Activities: Lynn Curtis, Lynbrook FD. EMS Act of Bravery: Caitlyn Fitzpatrick, Port Washington FD, and Stephen Kahl of NCPD EAB. EMS Rescue: Alex Trupiano, AMT.

2010 EMS Awards: EMS Agency of the Year: Port Washington FD-Fire Medic Company No.1. Advance Life Support Provider of the Year: Edward Oldak, Port Washington FD. Honorable Mention: Paul Brodowsky, NCPD EAB, Christopher DeMetropolis, Glen Cove EMS, Steven Doucette, NCPD EAB, Brian M. Ferrucci, Sr. Valley Stream FD, Steven Linzer, NCPD EAB, Robert McEvoy, NCPD EAB. Basic Life Support Provider of the Year: George N. Goodwin, Valley Stream FD. Honorable Mention: John McConie and Robert Plummer, Bayville FD. EMS Leadership Award: Philip Spinnato, Port Washington FD. EMS Educator of Excellence: Benjamin VonPentz (posthumously) North Shore LIJ Health System Center for Learning & Innovation. Honorable Mention: Steven Morelli, NC Fire Police EMS Academy. Physician of Excellence: Dr. Joseph S. Matrisciano, Valley Stream FD. EMS Heroism: Diane McCauley, NCPS EAB.