Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Massapequa High School Advances to Round Two of The Challenge

Match Against North Shore Airs on MSG Varsity on Feb. 27

Students from Massapequa High School do much more than just excel on the athletic fields. The classroom is producing many top-noted students as well. Following their first-round victory, the academic team from Massapequa High School is moving on to Round Two of The Challenge, an academic quiz show designed to test students’ knowledge in a Jeopardy-style format. 

The second round match-up between all-star student scholars from Massapequa High School and North Shore High School will air in high definition on Sunday, Feb. 27, at 5:30 p.m. on MSG Varsity (Cablevision’s iO TV – Channel 14).  MSG Varsity features new episodes of The Challenge every Sunday through Friday at 5:30 p.m.

Jared Cotter, former FUSE TV host and a former semifinalist from American Idol, serves as moderator of The Challenge, quizzing competing high school teams on their knowledge of history, arts and literature, current events, math, and science.  This season the students compete before a live audience.

Representing Massapequa High School will be Nick Barbieri, Erin Geier (team captain), Tyler Novet, Bryan Somaiah and Dylan Spiro.  The academic advisor is Rena Drezner.

The Challenge began as a Long Island effort 14 years ago and now includes 184 high schools from the entire tri-state area. Schools advance in the tournament through a series of elimination rounds.  After months of competition, one school in each region is crowned regional champion, winning $2,500 for their school.  The final winning teams from each region go on to The Challenge Championship where they square off against one another in a Tri-State Showdown.  The school crowned Tri-State Champion will receive $10,000 in prize money and each student participating in the final Challenge Championship game will receive $500.