Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Manhasset Varsity Boys Win Indoor Track Conference Championship

On Jan. 29 at St. Anthony’s Manhasset’s Boys Varsity Indoor Track Team outran nine other Conference rivals to win the Conference V Indoor Championship and finish the league season undefeated at 9 wins 0 losses.

This was the 16th conference championship won by the boys team since the sport started in 1978. The team was led by Joe Nassirian (12) who won the 3200 meters (10 pts.); Kyle Howell (11) scored (16 pts.) with second places in the high jump and triple jump; the conference championship 4 x 800 meter relay team of Joe Zahn (12), Andrew Choi (12), Stephen Bourguet (9), Patrick Love (12) scoring 10 points and Stephen Bourguet’s third-place 3200 meters and fourth-place 1600 meters for 10 points.

The team scores were Manhasset 94, North Shore 74, Floral Park 63, Valley Stream South 61, Island Trees 37, Roosevelt 36, West Hempstead 26, Great Neck North 24, Clarke 18 and Glen Cove 5. All team members were very important in the total team score with Charlie Howell (12) scoring 4 pts. in the 55-meter dash; Mario Gagliano (12) scoring 8 pts. in the 55-meter high hurdles – personal record; Joe Zahn (12) scoring 2 pts. in the 600-meter run; Andrew Choi (12) scoring 4 pts. in the 1000-meter run – personal record and Patrick Love (12) scoring 4 pts. in the 1600-meter and 3200-meter runs.

The field events – shot-put and high jump proved to be a huge part of the championship effort as three athletes in each event scored. In the shot-put Brian Morris (11) scored 8 pts.; Bobby Duvnjak (12) scored 2 pts. and in the high jump Kyle Howell scored 8 pts.; George Politidis (12) scored 2 pts. and Richard Jean (10) scored 1 point.

The relays finished the scoring with the winning 4 x 800 first (10 pts.); the 4 x 400-meter relay team of Charlie Howell, John Miller (9), Travis Burger (10), Francesco Borgognone (10) racing to 6 points and the 4 x 200-meter team of Charlie Howell, Billy Davis (11), Tyler Yim (12) and Francesco Borgognone passing the baton for 2 points. Howell and Borgognone started and anchored both relays. The conference championship saw 18 different athletes scoring for the team.

The team is looking forward to the Counties, State Qualifier, Eastern’s, States and Nationals.