Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Winning Season: Boys Tennis Captures Title

Manhasset High School’s 2013 boys varsity tennis season recently wrapped up with the team taking the Conference II championship.

The season began on a blustery April day with a match at Lynbrook High School. The Indians, led by co-captains Ryan Dunn and Andrew Chin, eked out a hard-fought 4-3 victory.

That modest start ignited an undefeated run through the first half of the season. After a tough loss to Valley Stream Central, the team closed out the season with five more wins, and finished the regular season in first place with a 13-1 record.

With playoffs looming, the boys set their sights on finishing the season with a mini-run through the playoffs and the Conference II championship. Playing on their home courts, the team defeated a very good Herricks team, 4-3.

This set up a title match against Valley Stream Central. The two teams had split their matches during the season, each defeating the other by an identical 5-2. Manhasset coach David Dorman reminded the athletes that Central had a very good team, and that they had inflicted upon the Indians their only loss. He urged them to show up with their “A Game and leave it all on the courts.” The boys did just that, dominating Central with a convincing 6-1 victory, and claimed the 2013 Conference II championship.

This year’s team was led by seniors Andrew Chin, Ryan Dunn, Patrick McGorry, Alex Miradoli, Michael Nelson, Max Ronbeck and Sai Senthilkumar.

“This group of seniors provided leadership and focus both on and off the court; they will be missed,” said Dorman.

The team also included sophomores Jesse Levitin, who played first singles, and Matt Holweger, who played third singles and finished the season with a perfect 16-0 record. Rounding out the roster are Dimitri Base, Andre Clejan, Dan Gershkowitz, David Kim, Dan Strongin and Jinyu Wu.

Jesse Levitin, Michael Nelson and Matt Holweger all earned All-Conference honors, while Dan Strongin and Jinyu Wu garnered All-Division recognition.