The Nassau Suffolk CYO has announced the winners of the Boys Basketball programs 2008/2009 Sportsmanship Awards. St. Mary's CYO has won four of these prestigious awards; Tom Carroll's eighth grade team, Matt Roberts' seventh-grade team, Rob Weber's sixth-grade team and PJ Barry's fourth grade team.

"The Margaret McGorry Sportsmanship Award is the highest award that CYO gives. Sportsmanship is the key to the values that CYO stands for and it is an outstanding accomplishment to have four teams win this award. It is often said that aside from parents and teachers, coaches are the most influential force in a young person's development," explained St. Mary's CYO Director John Kiggins, "For these coaches to conduct themselves accordingly and be role models for their players on how to conduct themselves speaks to the quality people they are. The boys are to be congratulated for not only their competitive effort but also for their sportsmanship and fair play. The parents are also to be thanked for their commitment to the program and instilling good sportsmanship in their sons."

Msgr. John McCann, pastor of St. Mary's, added, "I offer my congratulations and thanks to Tom, Matt, Rob and PJ and to the boys and their families on the exemplary way they represent St. Mary's."

The Church of St. Mary's CYO especially appreciates the effort of the players and coaches. Congratulations to:

Fourth-grade coaches PJ Barry and Pete Kehoe and players Brendan Barry, Jack Becker, Tommy Giannone, Jack Keogh, Petey McAree, Timmy Moy, Paul Peterson, Nicky Whitaker and Spencer Fanuka.

Sixth grade coaches Rob Weber and Tom Carroll and players David Spampinato, Christian Weber, Brian Suga, Jack Breen, Dylan Carroll, Peter Cybriwsky, Justin DeHann, Thomas Fruhauf, Peter Genovese, Griffin Hyde and Dylan Lindner.

Seventh grade coaches Matt Roberts, Tim Hayes and Mike Ferraro and players Hunter Bines, David Cole, Michael Ferraro, Chris Ferraro, Henry Griffith, Tommy Hayes, James Roberts, Michael Santos, Mark Vicklund and Michael Picone.

Eighth grade coaches Tom Carroll and Rick Pracher and players Patrick Carroll, Brendan Gallagher, Bryan Grimm, Owen Grimm, Sean Grimm, Lucas Pracher, Jake Miller, Peter Gray and Mike Joyce. Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the Manhasset Press|
Copyright ©2009 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News