Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

School Officials Sworn In At Board Meeting

The Island Trees Board of Education had their Reorganization meeting on Tuesday, July 9 at the Stephen E. Karopczyc School. Nine board members including School Superintendent, Dr. Charles Murphy and re-elected members, Kristen Daum and Barbara Medellin were each given the oath of office.


The appointment of the members of the committee on special education for the 2013-14 school year was also given at the meeting. Psychologists, Dr. Gail Sherry, Dr. Nadia

Pellicano, Amanda Field, Dr. Maryann Leone Maidat, Dr. Michael Perlotto and Dr. Leslie Eder were appointed members by the board. Dr. Arlene Genden Sage will serve as chairperson of the committee and Dr. Sherry will serve as alternate chairperson.


Appointments were made for the members of the subcommittee on special education for the 2013-14 school year. 


Allison Ackerman will serve as chairperson for the Stokes School subcommittee on special education. Penny Fisher will serve as chairperson for the Sparke School subcommittee on special education and Mary Travers will serve as chairperson for the Memorial Middle School subcommittee on special education.


Upon the recommendation of the superintendent, the board of education approved the resolution that the school district wishes to participate in the National Cooperative Purchasing Alliance conducted by the Region 14 Education Service Center based in Abilene, TX. This is for the purchase of technology products and services included on the Technology Solutions Bid.


The board also approved the Transportation Consortium Participation Bid where a number of public school districts in southeastern Nassau County have agreed to form a cooperative SENTCO, (SouthEast Nassau Transportation Cooperative.) The district agrees to assume its equitable share of the administrative costs of the cooperative bidding program and all of its obligations and responsibilities pursuant to any contracts that may be awarded by the cooperative.