More than 45 residents and neighbors attended the Installation of Officers ceremony for re-elected officials of the Village of New Hyde Park at Marcus Christ Hall of last week.

As a result of the uncontested election, Daniel Petruccio was re-elected as mayor, Donald Barbieri and Lawrence Montreuil were re-elected as trustees, and Christopher Devane was re-elected as village justice.

"These individuals, they come here not for what the village can do for them, but for what they can do for the village," said Deputy Mayor Robert Lofaro preceding the installation of officers.

Associate Village Justice Robert Morici, served as the installing officer for the swearing in of Village Justice Christopher Devane. Judge Devane thanked the court staff for their hard work and contributions over his past elected term.

Judge Devane then served as the installing officer for Trustees Donald Barbieri and Lawrence Montreuil and for Mayor Daniel Petruccio. "I feel so blessed to have been a part of New Hyde Park all these years," said Barbieri, reminiscing about his history with the village. "I want to thank you all very, very much for placing this faith in me to try to continue to do the job for this community that I love so much." Trustee Montreuil thanked village residents for the opportunity to continue serving and said, "There is a lot of diversity on the board, which is really great because there are a lot of different opinions coming across the table; sometimes it's a little spirited, but it's the right process."

Mayor Daniel Petruccio thanked his family for their sacrifices over the term of his service and the village staff and volunteers who carry out the tasks as a result of the board meetings.

Mayor Petruccio and Deputy Mayor Lofaro presented Length of Service awards to village employees, acknowledging 5, 10, 15, 20 and 20-plus years of service.

The following awards were presented:

5 Years:

Dan Bailey, Rich Belziti, Janet Bevers, James Carr, Keith Feldman, John Jurgielski, Thomas Kane, Ruth Kernan, Jeffrey Reilly, Tim Timmerman and Patrick Farrell

10 Years:

Dawn Doherty, Paul Schneider, Richard Sharvin

15 Years:

Patricia Anderson, Thomas Gannon, William Grigorellis, Charles Jesel, James Kehoe

20 Years:

Arthur Klaus, Sean Murphy

25 Years:

James McCloat, Barbara Pipa

35 Years:

Mark Farina, Ed Kotarski

Edward Smolenski, VFW Commander of G&E Linder Post #8031 and veteran representatives of the post served as color guard for the evening.

In addition to the installation ceremony, Mayor Petruccio conducted the annual Village Organizational Meeting. Several resolutions were passed including the authorization to appoint village officials, authorize advance payments for village operating costs prior to the board's audit and a listing of the board of trustee meetings for the fiscal year.

The next village board meeting is April 21 at 8 p.m. both at the village hall, corner of New Hyde Park Road and Jericho Turnpike. Logo
An Official Newspaper of the
LongIsland.Com Internet Community

| home | Email the New Hyde Park Illustrated News|
Copyright ©2009 Anton Community Newspapers, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

LinkExchange Member

Farmingdale Observer Floral Park Dispatch Garden City Life Glen Cove Record Pilot Great Neck Record Hicksville Illustrated News Levittown Tribune Manhasset Press Massapequan Observer Mineola American New Hyde Park Illustrated News Oyster Bay Enterprise Pilot Plainview Herald Port Washington News Roslyn News Syosset Jericho Tribune Three Village Times Westbury Times Boulevard Magazine Features Calendar Search Add An Event Classified Contacting Anton News