Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Cantiague Park Senior Men’s Golf News: July 26, 2013

The Cantiague Park Senior Men’s Golf League had its 7th tournament on July 11. We had 24 golfers on a beautiful and hot morning. We had seven golfers who  scored under 40;  low overall score was won by Rudy Pekarek with a brilliant. Mike Guerriero scored a birdie on the par 3 third hole.

Please note: There will be no early outs from this point on. Club golfers who do not wait for the 7:30 a.m. start will lose rights to winning any prize money or points. Golfers who must be the first out at 7:30 a.m. will be accommodated.  A new rule will also be imposed that you must play your round with club members only or default your score.

Please give

your e-mail addresses for a pre-publication subscription to this article published in the Levittown Tribune and Hicksville Illustrated News.

Low Actual Score—Rudy Pekarek (36)

Low Overall Net—John Bosco (41)

Low Flight A—Ted Marukawa (26)

2nd Low Flight A—Ken Hymes (28) (wins tie-breaker)

Longest Drive —Unverified

Closest to the Pin —Unverified)

Low Flight B—Mike Caffrey (42

2nd Low Flight (B) —George Rottkamp (51)

Leaders in points scored for club champion are Charlie Hong (21); John Bosco (15); Tony Macaluso (14); Joe Iavaroni and Don Sterling (13). Six golfers have 10-13 points. Prizes for winning overall club Champ will be 1st $50 2nd $40, 3rd $30 4th $20.

The next tournament will be on Thursday, July 25. Sign-in will be promptly at 7:30 a.m. Rain date is Friday, July 26, same time. Match play begins on July 11. Prizes for match play are 1st $80, 2nd $40, 3rd $20. Third will be determined by playoff of third and fourth place finishers. 4th place finisher gets a hand shake from the secretary and treasurer, and a doughnut.

Competition on the nine-hole course is divided into two divisions. Flight A is for players with a handicap of 13 or lower. Flight B is for players with a handicap of 14 or more.  The league is a 100 percent handicap league. Any man 55 years or older is eligible for membership.

If you are interested in joining the league for next year, call John Bosco at 516-512-0050 for information. The league includes an optional match play competition beginning in July and includes recognition of a yearly overall club champion by awarding points throughout the year. There are numerous opportunities for cash prizes for individual achievement utilizing your handicap in every tournament.  In the event of inclement weather, call 516-512-0050. 

Name—Score-Handicap-Net---new handicap after July 11, 2013.

Charlie Acerra—39-11-28---10

John Agnoli—DNP  (25)

John Bosco—41-16-25---13  

Jim Caffrey—42-15-27---13

Bruce Danen—DNP  (7)     

Jim Daugherty—DNP (10)

John Dilavore—DNP (20)

Bob Evans—38-7-31---7

Jim Fitzpatrick—47-10-37---10

Mike Galgano—DNP  (24)        

Pete Guerra—42-9-33---9

Mike Guerriero—41-13-28---12     

George Hatalsky—DNP  (17)

Charles Hong—39-4-35 ---4   

Ken Hymes—39-11-28---9

Joe Iavaroni—51-22-29---22       

Bob Kann—46-18-28---19

Pete Kerr —DNP  (14)

Sevald Knudsen—DNP  (11)

Pat Lehane—DNP  (10)

Walter Ludewig—51-22-29---22  

Tony Macaluso—56-22-34---22

Dave Malle—42-5-37---6

Andrew Malone—DNP  (15)

Ted Marukawa—38-12-36---11

Augie Moschitto—DNP (14)

Jim Murphy—49-14-35---16

Jim O’Brien—42-9-33---9             

Frank Orlando—DNP  (7)

Tom Parker—DNP  (14)   

Rudy Pekarek—36-12-34---10

Walter Pietsch—DNP           

Al Poggioli—51-15-36---15

Bob Powers—45-13-32---14

Jack Prunty—DNP  (17)

Bob Ross—39-10-29---9      

George Rottkamp—51-23-28---21  

Frank Russo—DNP  (21)            

Joe Sander—DNP  (18)                            

Kent Schreiber—53-14-39---16

Jerry Skaee—41-11-30---12

Don Sterling—DNP (12)  

Geoff Tripp—41-12-29---11

John Valsecchi—51-21-30---21  

Dom Vissicchio—45-15 30---14

Match Play continues. The handicap you had at beginning of match play remains static for the tournament. The changes in your handicap for purposes of regular prizes may change from week to week.

Golfers advancing: Tony Macaluso, Bob Kann, both will opponents to be determined. Geoff Tripp versus Jim Murphy, Jerry Skaee versus Pete Guerra, John Valsacchi versus Mike Guerriero, Jim O’Brian versus opponent to be determined, Bob Evans versus Walter Pietsch, Ted Marukawa versus Bob Powers.