Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

GOP Announces 2009 Slate for November Elections

Edward Mangano to Challenge Suozzi for County Exec Seat

On May 14, County Legislator Ed Mangano (17th L.D. – Bethpage) was officially nominated as the Nassau Republican Party’s candidate of choice to challenge Tom Suozzi for county executive on Nov. 3.
Additional nominations, originally scheduled to take place at the party’s May 21 convention at Levittown’s Wisdom Lane Middle School May 21, were postponed, as was an executive committee meeting, due to swine flu precautions. A new date for the convention was not set as of press time.
However, the county has announced a preliminary list of candidates expected to challenge Democrats in the county and Towns of Hempstead, North Hempstead and Oyster Bay on Election Day 2009.
The anticipated candidates, as of press time, are as follows:

Nassau County

Since both Mangano’s and Suozzi’s terms are both up for re-election the same year, the legislator cannot hold onto his seat and challenge the county executive. As of press time, current Oyster Bay Town Councilwoman Rose Marie Walker, a Republican from Hicksville, will run for the 17th L.D.
With the exception of Mangano, all of the Republican Party’s incumbent legislators are expected to seek re-election with the challengers for all Democratic-run district being brought forth.
The Republicans’ candidates, as of press time May 22, are:
Elton McCabe of Uniondale against Kevan Abrahams (1st L.D.); Derek Partee of Hempstead against Roger Corbin (2nd L.D.); Dr. Garry Stark of Great Neck against Judith Bosworth (10th L.D.); Jeff Losquadro of Albertson against Wayne Wink, Jr. (11th L.D.); Rebecca Alesia of Plainview against Judith Jacobs (16th L.D.); Michael Montesano of Glen Head against current Deputy Presiding Officer Diane Yatauro (18th L.D.); and Dr. Fred Jones of Merrick against Dave Denenberg (19th L.D.).
Additionally, three Republicans who have run against incumbent Democrats in the legislature before are expected to do so again. Joseph Belesi is challenging David Mejias (14th L.D); Chris Browne challenging Joseph Scannell (5th L.D.); and Howard Kopel is challenging Jeffrey Toback (7th L.D.).
Countywide seats are also up for re-election this year. County Clerk Maureen O’Connell, the only Republican currently holding an elected countywide position, is expected to seek re-election; George Maragos of Great Neck is expected to run against Howard Weitzman, the Democratic incumbent, for comptroller; and Joy Watson, a former assistant district attorney and current principal law clerk to Supreme Court Justice Karen Murphy, is expected to run against Democratic District Attorney Kathleen Rice.
Please note: Nassau County Assessor is now an appointed position.

Oyster Bay Town

In the Town of Oyster Bay, Republican Supervisor John Venditto, Town Clerk Steve Labriola and Councilmembers Joseph Pinto, Chris Coschignano and Elizabeth Faughnan are all seeking re-election.