Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

GCHS Recognizes Spring Athletes At Booster Club Awards Night

Athletes were honored at Glen Cove High School during the Booster Club awards night for spring sports. Approximately 35 athletes received 28 scholarships and special awards during the ceremony. Dozens of student athletes were given other awards, including Most Valuable Player and Booster Club Award, during the presentation of varsity awards.

“This program is more than competitions and sports. It is more than winning and losing. It is more than defeating an opponent. This program is basically a preparation for life because it teaches values. It teaches character and persistence, and perseverance, and determination, and overcoming adversity,” said Glen Cove Superintendent Dr. Joseph Laria while addressing the audience at the awards ceremony. “That is what this program is all about.”

Risa Nagel, Jakub Micko, Alison Abrams, Antonella D’Ambriosio, Alexander Lee, Robert MacDonald, and Christian Ring were all nominated for the prestigious Superintendent’s Award for spring athletics. Dr. Laria presented the Superintendent’s Award to varsity tennis player Matthew Bellomo. Principal Dr. Joseph Hinton presented the Principal’s Cup to Mario Serrano and Carina Zupa.

The 2011-12 Glen Cove Hall of Fame All-County Inductees included Carina Zuppa for soccer and softball, Kewan Beebe for basketball, Megan Pemberton for rifle, Nicola Alexander for basketball, Kevin Martinez for baseball and Ariana Cavallone for lacrosse.

Cavallone and Pemberton were awarded athletic scholarships to attend Molloy College and University of Akron, respectively. Cavallone was awarded the scholarship to play lacrosse, while Pemberton was received her award for rifle.

Community-based awards included the Glen Cove Range Commission Scholarship and the Matinecock Rod & Gun Club Competitive Shooting Scholarship, which were both awarded to Megan; the Annual Memorial Henry T. Boguszewski Golf Scholarship, awarded to Alexander Lee; The Todd Weber Award, presented to Christopher Theodorou; the Thomas Renison Scholarship Award, awarded to Antonella D’Ambrosio; Kenneth R. Andrews Sportsmanship Award, awarded to Jonathan Fiorino; The Glen Cove Jr. Football/Cheerleading Scholarship Award, presented to Nicholas Manzione, Meghan Peet, and Cristina Cappiello; The Glen Cove Jr. Soccer Scholarship, awarded to Alison Abrams, Nicholas Brussel, Martin Carmody, and Blaise Dennis; and the Glen Cove Jr. Lacrosse Scholarship, presented to Nicholas Manzione.

Additionally, Nicholas and Megan O’Connell received the James Fantry Memorial Award. Michael Stanco, Daniel Lynch, Phillip Ferrante Leilani D’Onofrio were awarded the Glen Cove Jr. Baseball and Softball Scholarship Award. Antonella D’Ambrosio received the Glen Cove Baseball and Softball Sportsmanship Award. Robert MacDonald was honored with receiving both awards, as well as the Charles McGuckin Award. Alexandra Gerin, Matthew Bellomo, Victoria Durso, Megan Peet, and Nicholas Manzione received the Hall of Fame Scholarships in memory of John Maccarone, while Ariana Cavallone received the Hall of Fame Scholarship in Memory of Dr. Sidney Canarick, as well as the Lola Schmitz Berg Award.

Other awards and scholarships, presented by Director of Health, Physical Education and Athletics Denise Kiernan, included the Knights of Columbus Award – EJ Gribbin, received by Erik Pajuelo and Alexandra Gerin; Charles Johnson Physical Fitness Award, presented to Alexandra and Gorov Sodhi; Marine Distinguished Athletes, awarded to Christopher Theodorou and Nicola Alexander; Army Reserve National Scholar/Athlete Award, presented to Victoria Durso and Dennis Ramadan; and the Glen Cove High School Athletic Achievement Award, given to Jakub Micko and Alison Abrams.

Booster Club President Linda Perlman presented Booster Club scholarships to Christopher Saperstein and Cristina Cappiello. Perlman also awarded the John “Red Lamberson” scholarship to Nicholas Manzione and the Virginia A. Maccarone scholarship to Alexandra Gerin.

Prior to the awards night, senior athletes Ariana Cavallone and Megan Pemberton, who participate in lacrosse and rifle, respectively, received athletic scholarships to attend college in the fall, according to Kiernan. Cavallone will be attending Molloy College in Rockville Centre and Pemberton will be heading to University of Akron in Ohio.