Anton Community Newspapers  •  132 East 2nd Street  •  Mineola, NY 11501  •  Phone: 516-747-8282  •  FAX: 516-742-5867
Intended comprare kamagra senza ricetta company.
Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

Too Close for Comfort on Election Day

Election Day 2011 revealed an extremely divided votership around much of Nassau County, with the Glen Cove area being no exception. At the time of this printing, the race between Delia DeRiggi-Whitton and Robert Germino for the 18th Legislative District was within a few votes (6,040 to 6,003 in Germino’s favor) and the Board of Elections was moving into hundreds of absentee ballots to get an accurate count. The mayoral race between Ralph V. Suozzi and Paul Meli was also close (2,915 to 2,798 in Suozzi’s favor), with political party representatives assuring that the Board of Elections had impounded voting machines to look at affidavits and absentees before confirming an official winner. 

Control of the Nassau County Legislature was hanging in the balance – with an upset in the 3rd Legislative District ousting Republican John Ciotti, and a tight race in the currently Republican 14th Legislative District leaving that seat up for grabs. Jay Jacobs, Democratic Committee chairman, said his party would not give up the 18th and 14th - and the chance of regaining the majority - without a fight.

“There is definitely going to be a recount,” Jacobs told the Record Pilot. “There are 522 absentee ballots in the 18th district and 494 in the 14th. So, we definitely have a solid shot at winning both of those seats right now with the number of votes that currently divide the race.” 

DeRiggi-Whitton echoed that sentiment, telling the Record Pilot the race was “too close to call” on Wednesday.

Locally, unofficial results indicated that a divided votership would result in a new Glen Cove City Council. Several Republican challengers looked like they would sit on the dais in City Hall come January. The two GOP candidates up front were Reggie Spinello (2,945 votes) and Anthony Gallo, Jr. (2,973 votes), bumping out incumbent Councilman Sean Dwyer (2,517 votes) along with newcomer Martin Carmody (2,381 votes). Unclear results even suggested that a third Republican could possibly oust an incumbent Democrat as well.

“I am not conceding the race until every vote is counted and recounted,” Meli told the Record Pilot. He highlighted that while Spinello and Gallo looked like sure things, Republican Pam Panzenbeck (2,628 votes) was also only 38 votes behind incumbent Councilman Tim Tenke (2,666 votes). “I am very proud that the two highest votes went to Republican candidates,” he said, adding that with such close numbers for his own race and the council candidates, “I don’t know if I have to demand a recount, but I will if I have to.”

Tony Santino in Republican Committee Chairman Joseph Mondello's office said that with the mayoral candidates within around 100 votes of each other "there will definitely be a recount."

 Incumbent Democrats Anthony Jimenez (2,746 votes), Nicholas DiLeo (2,719 votes) and Michael Famiglietti (2,693 votes) looked like they would hold on to their council seats. As for the other Republican challengers, Filomena Ricciardi got 2,499 votes, John Hanley got 2,474 votes and Kristina Heuuser got 2,443 votes.

The 11th Legislative District, covering our Glenwood Landing and Roslyn Harbor readership, remained in the hands of Democrat incumbent Wayne Wink, with 7,400 votes to Republican Eric Zausner’s 4,621.

In the Town of Oyster Bay, Republican John Venditto remained town supervisor, garnering 33,003 votes against Democrat John Capobianco’s 12,595. Republicans Joseph Muscarella (29,768 votes), Anthony D. Macagnone (28,038 votes) and Rebecca M. Alesia (28,654 votes) beat out Democrats Allison McNally (15,332 votes), Terence Kelly (15,165 votes) and Marc Laykind (14,574 votes).

In the Town of Oyster Bay town clerk race, it was Republican Steven Labriola with 31,063 votes to Democrat Mike Cansoneri’s 13,840. The receiver of taxes race saw Republican James Stefanich getting 31,495 votes to Democrat Karl Viveiros’ 13,451.

All election results listed are unofficial.